Vernay, Lester Win 25th Anniversary Ironman Australia

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

New Caledonia’s Patrick Vernay took his fourth-straight Ironman Australia title, while Australia’s Carrie Lester won her first attempt at the Ironman distance.

Vernay continued his domination of this race thanks to a steady effort across all three disciplines for a time of 8:23:54. Scottish triathlete Scott Neyedli was second at 8:27:58. Age grouper Trent Chapman of Australia was third in 8:32:52.

Lester crossed the line in Port Macquarie in 9:23:50. Fellow Australian Rebekah Keat was second at 9:33:10.

Ironman Australia
Port Macquarie, Australia – March 28, 2010
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run


1. Patrick Vernay (NCL) 8:23:54
2. Scott Neyedli (GBR) 8:27:58
3. Trent Chapman (AUS) 8:32:52
4. Courtney Ogden (AUS) 8:35:54
5. Matt White (AUS) 8:36:39


1. Carrie Lester (AUS) 9:23:46
2. Rebekah Keat (AUS) 9:33:10
3. Amelia Pearson (AUS) 9:46:09
4. Diana Riesler  (GER) 9:57:04
5. Kirsten Molloy (AUS)  9:59:10

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.