USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series Heads To Las Vegas

The second edition of the unique and fast-paced format will take place under lights next week.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The second edition of the unique and fast-paced format will take place under lights next week.

The Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix will take place at the Las Vegas Convention Center next Thursday, Sept. 19. An interesting mix of nearly 50 athletes—ranging from Olympians Gwen Jorgensen and Jarrod Shoemaker to long-course athletes Heather Jackson and Leon Griffin—will compete in a double super-sprint format which includes two continuous circuits of the same course: a 300-meter pool swim (in a portable pool), 5-mile bike and 1.5-mile run.

Qualifying heats start at 8:30 a.m., and the top athletes from each heat (top 5 for women, top 3 for men) will earn a spot in the A finals at 8 p.m., following the B finals at 6 p.m. Qualifying and final heats of the event are free and open to the public, and an athlete autograph session will take place following the final heats and awards ceremony on Thursday evening. The event coincides with Interbike, the largest cycling trade show in North America. The schedule of events is available at

The invitation-only pro field will compete for a total of $30,000 in prize money. A $20,000 prize purse will be shared equally between the overall male and female fields, with the top-10 finishers being rewarded in each division. There will also be a $10,000 prize purse shared among the top-five men’s and women’s U.S. athletes as part of the USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Championships.

Visit or for more information.

RELATED: Why The Super Sprint Matters

USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series
Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix – Las Vegas

Competitors – Women
Erin Jones
Jessica Broderick
Chelsea Burns
Ashleigh Gentle
Katie Hursey
Heather Jackson
Lindsey Jerdonek
Gwen Jorgensen
Sara McLarty
Michelle Mehnert
Taylor Spivey
Radka Vodickova
Katherine Warren
Laurel Wassner
Rebeccah Wassner
Kelsey Withrow

Competitors – Men
Josh Amberger
Ryan Bice
Greg Billington
Barrett Brandon
Ben Collins
John Dahlz
Cameron Dye
Luke Farkas
Leon Griffin
William Huffman
Sean Jefferson
Bill Jones
Ben Kanute
Peter Kerr
Eric Lagerstrom
Kyle Leto
Alex Libin
Joe Maloy
Dustin McLarty
Brandon Nied
John O’Neill
Derek Oskutis
Jason Pedersen
Jacob Rhyner
Jarrod Shoemaker
Joel Tobin-White
Kaleb VanOrt
Lukas Verzbicas
Marcel Walkington
Tommy Zaferes

PHOTOS: Aaron Royle Beats Out Olympians At Fearless Pro

PHOTOS: Sarah Groff Impresses At Fearless Pro Triathlon

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.