Top Pros Head To San Juan And Monterrey For 70.3 Action

This weekend has a season kick-off feel of sorts with several professionals choosing to compete in either of two key 70.3 events.

Photo: Paul Phillips

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Triathlon season in the Northern Hemisphere seems to start earlier each year, and this weekend has a kick-off feel of sorts with several professionals choosing to compete in either of two key 70.3 events.

Sunday’s Ironman 70.3 Puerto Ricofeaturing a $25,000 prize pursewill see a new winner on the men’s side, with Brazil’s Igor Amorelli choosing not compete. 2012 winner Tim O’Donnell (USA) will race, as will 2013 Ironman world champion Frederik Van Lierde (BEL). Other top names to look for include Leon Griffin (AUS), Cameron Dye (USA), Patrick Evoe (USA), Chris Leiferman (USA) and Romain Guillaume (FRA). On the women’s side, American Sarah Haskins will look to keep her undefeated 70.3 streak alive by defending her 70.3 Puerto Rico title. She’ll face off against fellow Linsey Corbin (USA), Tine Deckers (BEL) and Laurel Wassner (USA).

RELATED PHOTOS: 2015 Ironman 70.3 Puerto Rico

Ironman 70.3 Monterreywith a $50,000 prize pursewill feature an equally impressive start list on Sunday, highlighted by three-time Ironman world champion Mirinda Carfrae (AUS). A win won’t come easy for Carfrae as she’ll compete against defending champion Magali Tisseyre (CAN), Heather Wurtele (CAN), Camilla Pedersen (DEN), Sarah Piampiano (USA), Liz Lyles (USA) and Emma-Kate Lidbury (GBR). For the men, 2015 champion Tim Don (GBR) will return and will face Francisco Serrano (MEX), Ben Hoffman (USA), Trevor Wurtele (CAN), Chris McDonald (USA), Matt Chrabot (USA), Ben Collins (USA), Cody Beals (CAN), Drew Scott (USA) and Kevin Collington (USA).

See the complete professional start lists for both races below:

Ironman 70.3 Puerto Rico Professional Start List

3 Tim O’Donnell (USA)
4 Frederik Van Lierde (BEL)
5 Chris Leiferman (USA)
6 Romain Guillaume (FRA)
7 Leon Griffin (AUS)
8 Cameron Dye (USA)
9 Patrick Evoe (USA)
10 Iain Alexandridis (USA)
12 Scott Bradley (USA)
13 Nicholas Chase (USA)
14 Greg Close (USA)
15 Matthew Curbeau (USA)
16 Toumy Degham (FRA)
17 Trevor Delsaut (FRA)
18 Guillaume Doree (FRA)
19 Jonathan Fecik (USA)
20 Thomas Gerlach (USA)
21 Steve Mantell (USA)
22 Jacob Rhyner (USA)
23 Fabian Roman (PRT)
24 Michael Ruenz (GER)
25 Frank Silvestrin Souza (BRA)
26 Sam Holmes (USA)

31 Sarah Haskins (USA)
33 Linsey Corbin (USA)
34 Tine Deckers (BEL)
36 Jeanne Collonge (FRA)
36 Laurel Wassner (USA)
37 Liz Baugher (USA)
38 Camille Donat (FRA)
39 Danielle Fischer (USA)
40 Samone Franzese (USA)
42 Rachel Jastrebsky (USA)
44 Ana Jimenez (PRT)
45 Nickie Luse (USA)
46 Amelia McCracken (USA)
48 Militza Rios La Luz (PRT)
49 Jodie Robertson (USA)
50 Amanda Wendorff (USA)

Ironman 70.3 Monterrey Professional Start List

1 Tim Don (GBR)
2 Francisco Serrano (MEX)
3 Richie Cunningham (AUS)
4 Ben Hoffman (USA)
5 Trevor Wurtele (CAN)
6 Chris McDonald (USA)
7 Matt Chrabot (USA)
8 Ben Collins (USA)
9 Cody Beals (CAN)
10 Drew Scott (USA)
11 Sylvain Sudrie (FRA)
12 Robert Wade (IRL)
13 Chris Braden (USA)
14 Alan Carrillo Avila (MEX)
15 Alistair Eeckman (USA)
16 Ernesto Fernandez (PAN)
17 Arturo Garza (MEX)
18 Tim Hancock (GBR)
19 Stuart Hayes (GBR)
20 Rodrigo Sepulveda San Martin (CHI)
21 Raul Tejada GTM
22 Matt Hanson (USA)
23 Kevin Collington (USA)
24 Vinicio Ibarra (MEX)
25 Rodrigo Acevedo USA

26 Magali Tisseyre (CAN)
27 Mirinda Carfrae (AUS)
28 Heather Wurtele (CAN)
29 Camilla Pedersen (DEN)
30 Sarah Piampiano (USA)
31 Liz Lyles (USA)
32 Tine Deckers (BEL)
33 Emma‐Kate Lidbury (GBR)
35 Palmira Alvarez (MEX)
36 Saleta Castro Noqueria (ESP)
37 Danielle Fischer (USA)
38 Kirsty Jahn (CAN)
39 Carly Johann (USA)
40 Corrie Kristick (USA)
41 Frankie Sanjana (GBR)
42 Celine Schaerer (SUI)
43 Erin Spitler (USA)
44 Karen Thibodeau (CAN)
45 Emma Palant (GBR)
46 Melanie McQuaid (CAN)

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.