Top Field Set To Race Ironman 70.3 Mallorca

Ironman 70.3 world champion Daniela Ryf (SUI) will look to add another title to her collection.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Germany’s Andreas Dreitz will take on tough competition in his pursuit to defend his 2014 Ironman 70.3 Mallorca title, while reigning Ironman 70.3 world champion Daniela Ryf (SUI) will look to add another title to her collection.

The biggest name on the men’s start list is two-time Ironman 70.3 world champion Michael Raelert (GER), who won this race in 2012. Other all-star names include Ivan Raña (ESP), Mike Aigroz (SUI), David Plese (SLO), Mathias Hecht (SUI), Sam Appleton (AUS), Joe Gambles (AUS), Maxim Kriat (UKR) and Jan Van Berkel (SUI).

Ryf is the heavy favorite, but she’ll have to beat out top names like Julia Gajer (GER), Yvonne Van Vlerken (NED), Kristin Moeller (GER), Tine Deckers (BEL) and Michelle Vesterby (DEN).

The pros, along with a sold-out field of age groupers vying for 50 spots to the 2015 Ironman 70.3 World Championship, will take on the Alcúdia course this Sunday, May 9. Athletes will swim 1.2 miles in the harbor (one lap), bike 56 miles up the mountains (one lap) and then run along the beach (three laps).

RELATED – PROfile: Daniela Ryf

See the complete start list below.

1 Andreas Dreitz GER
2 Michael Raelert GER
3 Ivan Raña ESP
4 Mike Aigroz SUI
5 David Plese SLO
6 Mathias Hecht SUI
7 Miguel Angel Fidalgo ESP
8 Sam Appleton AUS
9 Anders Christensen DNK
10 Antony Costes FRA
11 Vincent Depuiset FRA
12 Andreas Helbo Beck DNK
13 Markus Hoermann GER
14 Allan Hovda NOR
15 Mikita Hryhoryeu BEL
16 Sebastien Jouffret FRA
17 Thomas Kaiser GER
19 Matthias Knossalla GER
20 Teemu Kyllonen FIN
21 Cedric Lassonde FRA
22 Carlos Lopez ESP
23 David Mcnamee GBR
24 Petr Michovsky CZE
25 Tomas Mika CZE
26 Matic Modic SLO
27 Urs Müller SUI
28 Joan Nadal Clar ESP
29 Mathias Nagel GER
30 Ritchie Nicholls GBR
31 Daniel Niederreiter AUT
32 Patrik Nilsson SWE
33 Gwenael Ouilleres FRA
34 Fabian Rahn GER
35 Pascal Ramali GER
36 Ivan Risti ITA
37 Andreas Thissen GER
38 Hendrikjan Verhaegen BEL
39 Erik Watson BAH
40 Dirk Wijnalda NED
42 Rob Woestenborghs BEL
43 Valentin Zasypkin RUS
44 Allan Steen Olesen DNK
45 Patrick Lange GER
46 Andreas Linden SWE
47 Joe Gambles AUS
48 Maxim Kriat UKR
49 Michael Louys BEL
50 Manuel Kueng SUI
51 Evgeniy Nikitin RUS
52 Denis Sketako SLO
53 Frederic Schaffner FRA
54 Johann Ackermann GER
55 Gilian Oriet SUI
56 Alexander Schilling GER
57 Marcel Bischof GER
58 Artem Parienko RUS
59 Christian Jais GER
60 Jan Van Berkel SUI

70 Daniela Ryf SUI
71 Julia Gajer GER
72 Yvonne Van Vlerken NED
74 Kristin Moeller GER
76 Mette Pettersen Moe NOR
77 Diana Riesler GER
78 Verena Walter GER
79 Maria Lemeseva RUS
80 Tine Deckers BEL
81 Vicky Gill GBR
82 Emma Graaf SWE
83 Yvette Grice GBR
84 Anne Jensen DEN
85 Anna Kusch GER
86 Georgie Rutherford GBR
87 Franziska Scheffler GER
88 Natascha Schmitt GER
89 Mirjam Weerd NLD
90 Stefanie Adam BEL
91 Elena Casiraghi ITA
94 Nicole Woysch GER
95 Kaisa Lehtonen FIN
96 Michelle Vesterby DEN

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.