Strong Pro Field To Race Hy-Vee Elite Cup

The pros will be competing for their share of a $500,000 pro prize purse this Sunday in Des Moines, Iowa.

Photo: Paul Phillips

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The start list for the Hy-Vee 5150 U.S. Championship Elite Cup has been released, and it features some speedy short- and long-course stars. The pros will be competing for their share of a $500,000 pro prize purse, the largest in Olympic-distance racing, this Sunday, Aug. 31 in Des Moines, Iowa. The race pays 30 deep, with $100,000 going to first place and $500 going to 30th place. With 30 men and 30 women on the start list, that means every finisher will go home with some prize money.

Men’s Race
The start list isn’t as deep as in previous years because the ITU World Triathlon Series Grand Final is taking place the same weekend in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, which means Spain’s Javier Gomez won’t be returning to defend his title.

Topping the men’s list is Swiss ITU athlete Ruedi Wild, who has excelled at non-drafting races this season with victories at St. Anthony’s and 5150 Zurich, and podium finishes at three half-Ironman races (St. Croix, Rapperswil and Weisbaden). He’ll face tough competition from multiple Life Time Series champion Cameron Dye (USA); current Life Time Tri Series leader Ben Collins (USA); former Hy-Vee champion and triathlon veteran Greg Bennett (AUS); two-time Olympic medalist Bevan Docherty (NZL); and Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS), who was the runner-up at 70.3 St. Croix and St. Anthony’s this season. Other top names competing for the $100,000 are Kevin Collington (USA), Paul Matthews (AUS), Hunter Kemper (USA), Matt Chrabot (USA), Clayton Fettell (AUS), James Seear (AUS), Kaleb VanOrt (USA), Ivan Rana (ESP), Matt Reed (USA) and Tom Davison (NZL).

RELATED PHOTOS: 2013 Hy-Vee Elite Cup

Women’s Race
Like Gomez, defending women’s champion Emma Moffatt (AUS) will not be on the start list. Two-time Ironman world champion Mirinda Carfrae (AUS) and two-time Ironman 70.3 world champion Melissa Hauschildt (AUS) aren’t known for their strength at this distance, but that doesn’t mean each isn’t capable of taking the win. Carfrae finished second in 2011, while Hauschildt had the same result last year. They’re each capable of posting race-best run times, but will need to keep pace on the swim and bike to have a chance.

The deep field also includes Life Time Tri Series champ Alicia Kaye (USA), Olympian and 70.3 St. Croix champ Radka Vodickova (CZE), 2013 Kona podium finisher Liz Blatchford (GBR), Boulder Peak 5150 and 70.3 San Juan champion Helle Frederiksen (DEN), 2010 Ironman 70.3 world champion Jodie Swallow and uber biker Svenja Bazlen (GER). Other top American women on the start list include Laura Bennett, Kelly Williamson, Sara McLarty, Mary Beth Ellis, Rebeccah Wassner, Laurel Wassner and Jillian Petersen.

RELATED PHOTOS: 2012 Hy-Vee Elite Cup

Men’s Start List
1 Ruedi Wild SUI
2 Hunter Kemper USA
3 Kevin Collington USA
4 James Seear AUS
5 Paul Matthews AUS
6 Greg Bennett AUS
7 Brad Kahlefeldt AUS
8 Rodolphe Von Berg ITA
9 Antony Costes FRA
10 Cameron Dye USA
11 Matt Chrabot USA
12 Benjamin Collins USA
13 Joshua Amberger AUS
14 Wikus Weber RSA
15 Mark Bowstead NZL
16 Domenico Passuello ITA
17 Clayton Fettell AUS
18 Jordan Jones USA
19 Andreas Dreitz GER
21 Pieter Heemeryck BEL
21 David Thompson USA
22 Brooks Cowan USA
23 Kaleb VanOrt USA
24 Chris Foster USA
25 Barrett Brandon USA
26 Drew Scott USA
27 Matt Reed USA
28 Ivan Rana ESP
29 Bevan Docherty NZL
30 James Thorp USA

Women’s Start List
51 Svenja Bazlen GER
52 Lauren Goss USA
53 Alicia Kaye USA
54 Radka Vodickova CZE
55 Helle Frederiksen DNK
56 Sara McLarty USA
57 Catherine Jameson GBR
58 Liz Blatchford GBR
59 Abby Geurink USA
60 Mary Beth Ellis USA
61 Rebeccah Wassner USA
62 Lauren Brandon USA
63 Ricarda Lisk GER
64 Jillian Petersen USA
65 Hallie Blunck USA
66 Laura Bennett USA
67 Laurel Wassner USA
68 Kelly Williamson USA
69 Jen Spieldenner USA
70 Liz Baugher USA
71 Mirinda Carfrae AUS
72 Sarah Crowley AUS
73 Isabelle Gagnon CAN
74 Melissa Hauschildt AUS
75 Sinead O’Dwyer USA
76 Renate Forstner DEU
77 Lesley Smith USA
78 Nell Rojas USA
79 Jodie Swallow GBR
80 Brianna Blanchard USA

More race coverage from

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.