Philip Graves, Bella Bayliss Win Ironman U.K.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Bella Bayliss defended her title by leading virtually from start to finish, while Ironman rookie Philip Graves, 20, became the youngest Ironman champion in history with his wire-to-wire win over men’s defending champion Stephen Bayliss at today’s Ironman UK event in Bolton.

Ironman Uniked Kingdom
Bolton, Great Britain
August 2, 2009
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run


1. Philip Graves (GBR) 8:45:51
2. Stephen Bayliss (GBR) 8:48:29
3. Jarmo Hast (FIN) 8:57:58
4. Dejan Patrcevic (CRO) 9:00:20
5. Nicholas Peter Ward Munoz (ESP) 9:12:46

1. Bella Bayliss (SCO) 9:33:59
2. Abigail Bayley (GBR) 9:46:15
3. Irene Kinnegim (NED) 10:06:40
4. Karina Ottosen (DEN) 10:49:08
5. Julia Hild (GER) 11:13:15

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.