Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Olympic Triathlon Start Lists Revealed

The men’s Olympic triathlon will be contested on Aug. 18, while the women will take to Copacabana Beach on Aug. 20.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

With the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games set to start this week, the International Triathlon Union has released the men’s and women’s triathlon numbered start lists. The men’s Olympic triathlon will be contested on Aug. 18, while the women will take to Copacabana Beach on Aug. 20.

Read the news from below:

“Congratulations to all of the athletes that have worked so hard for so long to make it to the Olympics,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “The men’s and women’s start list reflect deep fields riddled with talent from all over the world. Come August 18 and 20, the word will be inspired and entertained by these 110 men and women.”

Across the men’s and women’s races, a record number of 42 National Olympic Committees (NOCs) have qualified spots at the triathlon competition for Rio 2016, the highest number ever for triathlon at an Olympic Games. In London 2012, there were 39 NOCs, with 37 represented in Beijing 2008, 33 in Athens and 34 in Sydney.

Among the 42 NOCs this year, six have qualified a spot for the first time in the history of triathlon at the Olympic Games including Azerbaijan, Barbados, Israel, Jordan, Norway and Puerto Rico.

Seven NOCs will see the maximum allowance of three women compete are Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Japan, Spain, Russia, and the United States.

In the men’s race, eight NOCs qualified the maximum of three men including Australia, France, Great Britain, Mexico, Portugal, Russia, Spain and the United States.

Start numbers are drawn at random and assigned in groupings to National Olympic Committees, determining where athletes rack their bikes in transition. However, athletes will select their start position based in order of their Olympic rankings at the athlete briefing in Rio. The first ten athletes’ selections will not be revealed until all 55 athletes have chosen their spot.

Start numbers 30-39 hold good omens as to who might podium at Rio. So far five gold medals have come from start numbers between 30 and 39. These included Emma Snowsill (34), Brigitte McMahon (35), Kate Allen (39), Jan Frodeno (32) and Alistair Brownlee (30).

However, the most successful start number to date is 34. It was worn by Emma Snowsill (Gold in Beijing), Magali di Marco Messmer (Bronze in Sydney), and Susan Williams (Bronze in Athens). Start number 27 has also been a successful number, with Bevan Docherty claiming both his medals, silver in Athens and bronze in Beijing, in that start number.

While the IOC’s ruling for Russian triathletes ability to race in Rio is pending, start numbers for confirmed athletes will not change. Any athlete that enters the start list late due to a withdrawal from another athlete will be given the start number of the athlete that was withdrawn.


1 Richard Murray RSA
2 Henri Schoeman RSA
3 Thomas Springer AUT
4 Gordon Benson GBR
5 Alistair Brownlee GBR
6 Jonathan Brownlee GBR
7 Ryan Bailie AUS
8 Ryan Fisher AUS
9 Aaron Royle AUS
10 Miguel Arraiolos POR
11 Joao Pereira POR
12 Joao Silva POR
14 Jelle Geens BEL
15 Marten Van Riel BEL
16 Dorian Coninx FRA
17 Pierre Le Corre FRA
18 Vincent Luis FRA
19 Sven Riederer SUI
20 Andrea Salvisberg SUI
21 Lawrence Fanous JOR
22 Rodrigo Gonzalez MEX
23 Crisanto Grajales MEX
24 Irving Perez MEX
25 Kristian Blummenfelt NOR
26 Gábor Faldum HUN
27 Tamás Tóth HUN
28 Luciano Taccone ARG
29 Gonzalo Raul Tellechea ARG
30 Alexander Bryukhankov RUS
31 Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS
32 Igor Polyanskiy RUS
33 Manuel Huerta PUR
34 Andreas Schilling DEN
35 Tony Dodds NZL
36 Ryan Sissons NZL
37 Gregory Billington USA
38 Ben Kanute USA
39 Joe Maloy USA
40 Ivan Ivanov UKR
41 Hirokatsu Tayama JPN
42 Faquan Bai CHN
43 Jason Wilson BAR
44 Ron Darmon ISR
45 Diogo Sclebin BRA
46 Alessandro Fabian ITA
47 Davide Uccellari ITA
48 Leonardo Chacon CRC
49 Richard Varga SVK
50 Bryan Keane IRL
51 Rostislav Pevtsov AZE
52 Tyler Mislawchuk CAN
53 Andrew Yorke CAN
54 Fernando Alarza ESP
55 Vicente Hernandez ESP
56 Mario Mola ESP


1 Agnieszka Jerzyk POL
2 Mari Rabie RSA
3 Gillian Sanders RSA
4 Rachel Klamer NED
5 Mateja Simic SLO
6 Anastasia Abrosimova RUS
7 Alexandra Razarenova RUS
8 Mariya Shorets RUS
9 Pamella Oliveira BRA
10 Sarah-Anne Brault CAN
11 Amelie Kretz CAN
12 Kirsten Sweetland CAN
14 Vicky Holland GBR
15 Helen Jenkins GBR
16 Non Stanford GBR
17 Jolanda Annen SUI
18 Nicola Spirig SUI
19 Lisa Norden SWE
20 Gwen Jorgensen USA
21 Sarah True USA
22 Katie Zaferes USA
23 Aileen Reid IRL
24 Lianyuan Wang CHN
25 Vendula Frintova CZE
26 Flora Duffy BER
27 Elizabeth Bravo ECU
28 Cecilia Gabriela Perez Flores MEX
29 Claudia Rivas MEX
30 Lisa Perterer AUT
31 Sara Vilic AUT
32 Barbara Riveros CHI
33 Miriam Casillas García ESP
34 Ainhoa Murua ESP
35 Carolina Routier ESP
36 Charlotte Bonin ITA
37 Annamaria Mazzetti ITA
38 Andrea Hewitt NZL
39 Nicky Samuels NZL
40 Claire Michel BEL
41 Katrien Verstuyft BEL
42 Cassandre Beaugrand FRA
43 Audrey Merle FRA
44 Kaidi Kivioja EST
45 Fabienne St Louis MRI
46 Anne Haug GER
47 Laura Lindemann GER
48 Zsófia Kovács HUN
49 Margit Vanek HUN
50 Erin Densham AUS
51 Ashleigh Gentle AUS
52 Emma Moffatt AUS
53 Yuliya Yelistratova UKR
54 Yurie Kato JPN
55 Yuka Sato JPN
56 Ai Ueda JPN

Video: 4X World Champion Mirinda Carfrae Makes Her Picks for 70.3 Chattanooga

Carfrae and former pro Patrick Mckeon break down the iconic course in Chattanooga, who looks good for the pro women's race, and their predictions for how the day will play out.