Jones, Pennock Win Dallas CAMTRI American Cup

Erin Jones led the way for the U.S. at the Dallas CAMTRI Sprint American Cup on Saturday.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Erin Jones led the way for the U.S. at the Dallas CAMTRI Sprint American Cup on Saturday, while Russell Pennock (CAN) won the men’s race in the triathlon turned run-bike-run event.

Read the recap from USA Triathlon below:

Originally scheduled to begin with a 750-meter swim in Lake Carolyn just outside of the Marriott Las Colinas, elite triathletes competing in the CAMTRI American Cup race covered a 5-kilometer run, 20-kilometer bike, 2.5-kilometer run course on Saturday morning, with Jones topping the women’s field in a time of 1 hour, 43 seconds. Summer Cook (USA) finished second for the women in 1:01:30, and Calah Schlabach (USA) took third in 1:02:24.

In the men’s race, Jefferson finished 10 seconds off the pace of winner Russell Pennock of Canada, earning his first podium finish of 2015 in 54:18. Pennock clocked in at 54:08 for the win, and Jason West (USA) grabbed his second bronze medal of the season in CAMTRI American Cup event with a time of 54:22.

In addition to the CAMTRI American Cup, Dallas also hosted USA Triathlon Youth F1 (ages 12-16) Saturday morning. These events are designed to provide top up-and-coming triathletes with draft-legal racing experience.

Competing on a 5k run, 10k bike, 1k run course, Cassidy Hickey (USA) posted the fastest time for the girls’ race in 30:49, while Jonathan McAlister (USA) posted the fastest time for the boys’ race in 25:47.

RELATED – 2016 Olympics Update: Where The U.S. Stands Now

Dallas CAMTRI American Cup
5k run, 20k bike, 2.5k run

1. Erin Jones (USA) 1:00:43
2. Summer Cook (USA) 1:01:30
3. Calah Schlabach (USA) 1:02:24
4. Erin Dolan (USA) 1:02:38
5. Adriana Isaura Carreno (MEX), 1:02:54
6. Johanna Gartman (USA)1:03:08
7. Meghan Degan (USA) 1:03:20
8. Alexandra Gordichuk (CAN) 1:03:55
9. Molly Higgins (USA) 1:05:37
10. Katie Gorczyca (USA) 1:05:39

1. Russell Pennock (CAN) 54:08
2. Sean Jefferson (USA) 54:18
3. Jason West (USA) 54:22
4. Robby Webster (USA) 54:30
5. Alex Willis (USA) 54:35
6. John O’Neill (USA) 55:17
7. Stefan Zachaeus (LUX) 55:30
8. Edson Gomez (MEX) 55:45
9. Josh Izewski (USA) 56:24
10. Hernan Dario Rubiano Valero (COL) 57:05

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.