ITU Stars Take Wins At U.S. Open Dallas Triathlon

The Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon in Dallas was the seventh and final stop in the 2011 Toyota Cup series.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon in Dallas was the seventh and final stop in the 2011 Toyota Cup series. The race had a pro prize purse of $60,000, with $15,000 going to the men’s and women’s winners. It would also determine the men’s and women’s series champions, each of whom would win a cash prize and a new Toyota Prius, altogether worth $62,250.

Written by: Erin Beresini

It’s no wonder, then, that the pro fields were stacked. (About 1,000 speedy amateurs competed as well.) Alicia Kaye started Dallas as the series leader with a miniscule margin over second-place Sarah Haskins, who won Dallas in 2007.

Last year’s Dallas winner, Lisa Norden, won the women’s race while two-time ITU World Champion, Javier Gomez, won the men’s race. According to our calculations, Potts and Haskins have won the Toyota Cup Series.

Men’s Race
Andy Potts and Javier Gomez led the swim, exiting the water in under 18 minutes. Cameron Dye and Greg Bennett quickly took over the race on the bike, posting the top bike splits of the day, with Dye pedaling a blistering 55:36. But the two triathletes were no match for Gomez on the run. Gomez had the top run split of the race, powering through the course in 31:13 to take the win and the race winner’s prize of $15,000. Greg Bennett came in second and Cameron Dye came in third. Potts finished fourth, narrowly securing his title as the men’s 2011 Toyota Cup Series champ.

Women’s Race
As usual, Sara McLarty led the women in the water, exiting in under 19 minutes. But last year’s Dallas winner, Lisa Norden, took charge early on in the bike, posting the fastest female bike time of the day of 1:00:33 to start the run in the lead. Norden held onto her lead through the run, completing the 10K in 36:17. Haskins came in second, securing her title as the women’s 2011 Toyota Cup Series champion. Annabel Luxford rounded out the podium in third.

Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon
Dallas, Texas – Oct. 2, 2011
1.5K swim, 40K bike, 10K run

1. Javier Gomez (ESP) 1:47:55
2. Greg Bennett (USA) 1:48:40
3. Cameron Dye (USA) 1:49:52
4. Andy Potts (USA) 1:50:08
5. Filip Ospaly (CZE) 1:51:17

1. Lisa Norden (SWE) 2:03:03
2. Sarah Haskins (USA) 2:05:54
3. Annabel Luxford (AUS) 2:06:45
4. Jodie Stimpson (GBR) 2:07:26
5. Becky Lavelle (USA) 2:08:05

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.