Island House Invitational Again Attracts All-Star Field

The three-day non-drafting triathlon stage race is set for Oct. 28-30 in the Bahamas.

Photo: Nils Nilsen

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The Island House Invitational Triathlons today announced the preliminary start list for its three-day non-drafting triathlon stage race, set for Oct. 28-30 in the Bahamas. The unique race format brings all-stars from all of triathlon’s distances—from ITU to Ironman—together for unique head-to-head match-ups. The event offers a massive $500,000 prize purse, making it no surprise that several top names will choose to cap off their 2016 season in paradise.

American Gwen Jorgensen will return to defend her 2015 title, while the men’s side will see a new champion as Spaniard Javier Gomez continues to recover from surgery.

The Format

Competitors will compete over three days in various non-drafting events, a departure from last year’s draft-legal racing. Organizers hope this will make for an even more exciting match-up and level the playing field between short- and long-course competitors. This year, the Island House Triathlons will feature an elimination format. Forty athletes will compete over the first two days of the event, but only 10 men and 10 women will remain for the final day of racing when the champions will be decided. The 20 finalists will be whisked from Nassau to the private island of Highbourne Cay.

A one-hour national television broadcast will showcase the athletes, the lead-up to the race, the competitors, and the race itself.

Learn more at

Preliminary Start Lists

Gwen Jorgensen (USA)
Lisa Norden (SWE)
Flora Duffy (BER)
Alicia Kaye (USA)
Rachel Klamer (NED)
Heather Wurtele (CAN)
Mirinda Carfrae (AUS)
Lauren Brandon (USA)
Leanda Cave (GBR)
Liz Blatchford (AUS)
Helle Frederiksen (DNK)
Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)
Sarah Haskins (USA)
Meredith Kessler (USA)
Emma Moffatt (AUS)
Magali Tisseyre (CAN)
Jodie Stimpson (GBR)
Caroline Routier (ESP)
Katie Zaferes (USA)

Richard Murray (RSA)
Tim Don (GBR)
Cam Dye (USA)
Leon Griffin (AUS)
Ben Hoffman (USA)
Trevor Wurtele (CAN)
Barrett Brandon (USA)
Tim O’Donnell (USA)
Josh Amberger (AUS)
Sebastian Kienle (GER)
Eric Lagerstrom (USA)
Joe Maloy (USA)
Brent McMahon (CAN)
Mario Mola (ESP)
Tim Reed (AUS)
Aaron Royle (AUS)
Lionel Sanders (CAN)
Jesse Thomas (USA)

RELATED PHOTOS: 2015 Island House Invitational

Trending on Triathlete

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.