Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Hy-Vee Start List, Course Changes Announced

The seventh running of the race will take place Sept. 1 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Organizers of the Hy-Vee Triathlon announced Thursday some pros who will be racing the Elite Cup as well as changes to the course of the Hy-Vee Triathlon, which will take place Sept. 1 in Des Moines, Iowa. This is the seventh running of the race, which has gone through several iterations since its inaugural event in 2006. While it’s been known previously for having the largest prize purse in the sport, the purse has been scaled down this year, but at $500,000, it’s still the largest purse in Olympic-distance racing.

The Labor Day weekend event will feature three divisions, all taking place on the same day, starting with the Hy-Vee Triathlon 5150 U.S. Championship Elite Cup men’s race kicking off at 6:45 a.m., followed by the women’s race at 6:50 a.m. The 30 pro men and 30 pro women will be competing for their share of the $500,000, with $100,000 going to each winner, and paying 30 deep (30th place walks away with $500).

At 7:05 a.m., age-group athletes who’ve qualified will race the Hy-Vee Triathlon 5150 U.S. Championship for their share of $175,000 worth of prizes, and at 8 a.m. the Hy-Vee Triathlon, nicknamed the “citizens’ race,” as it’s open to everyone, will kick off.

Elite Cup Start List

The pro race will include 30 men and 30 women, many of whom have already been decided and confirmed by qualifying, and then the final five will be by invitation. Both 2012 champions, Javier Gomez and Lisa Norden, will be defending their titles. In addition to the list below, race director Bill Burke mentioned that 2012 Olympic medalist Alistair Brownlee and his brother, 2012 bronze medalist Jonathan Brownlee, have expressed interest in racing this year.

Pro men:
Greg Bennett (USA)
Bevan Docherty (NZL)
Javier Gomez (ESP)
Hunter Kemper (USA)
Brent McMahon (CAN)
Matty Reed (USA)
Stuart Hayes (GBR)
James Seear (AUS)
Clark Ellice (NZL)
Andy Potts (USA)
Cameron Dye (USA)

Pro women:
Lisa Norden (SWE)
Meredith Kessler (USA)
Nicky Samuels (NZL)
Annabel Luxford (AUS)
Angela Naeth (CAN)
Kelly Williamson (USA)
Laura Bennett (USA)
Alicia Kaye (USA)
Liz Blatchford (GBR)
Margaret Shapiro (USA)
Lauren Brandon (USA)
Emma Moffatt (AUS)

PHOTOS: 2012 5150 Hy-Vee U.S. Championship

Course Changes

The biggest change to the course this year is that the organizers have strived to make it more spectator-friendly. Its previous location, in West Des Moines, Iowa, and draft-legal ITU format for the pro race in 2006 included multiple laps, grand stands and an entertaining race for spectators.

In 2011, when Hy-Vee partnered with World Triathlon Corporation to make Hy-Vee part of the 5150 Series of races, the race went to a non-draft-legal format and was moved to downtown Des Moines. Last year, athletes started from Gray’s Lake but finished at the capitol building, which made it difficult for spectators to see their athletes very many times. This year, the organizers have announced that the race will begin and end at Gray’s Lake Park, 167 acres in the heart of Des Moines. This will alleviate transportation and spectator issues from last year.

To find out more, visit

PHOTOS: 2011 Hy-Vee 5150 U.S. Championship

Our Twitter followers are the first to know about the latest in triathlon news. Follow us now @Triathletemag.

Video: 4X World Champion Mirinda Carfrae Makes Her Picks for 70.3 Chattanooga

Carfrae and former pro Patrick Mckeon break down the iconic course in Chattanooga, who looks good for the pro women's race, and their predictions for how the day will play out.