Filip Ospaly, Sarah Haskins Defend Titles At St. Anthony’s

The field simply couldn't match the running speed of Ospaly and Haskins.

Photo: Paul Phillips

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

More than 80 pros raced the 29th annual St. Anthony’s Triathlon in St. Petersburg, Fla., vying for a piece of the $65,000 prize purse. Now in its second year as a part of WTC’s 5i50 series, St. Anthony’s also awards points for qualification toward the 5i50 U.S. Championship in Des Moines, Iowa. Those points, combined with the prize purse, led to an impressive turnout of professional triathletes.

The winners from 2011, Filip Ospaly and Sarah Haskins, were back to defend their titles. Olympian Greg Bennett; 2010 St. Anthony’s winner Cameron Dye; and this year’s 70.3 Texas and San Juan champion, Timothy O’Donnell, were all on hand to challenge Ospaly. On the women’s side, 2010 Ironman world champ Mirinda Carfrae, three-time Ironman champion Mary Beth Ellis and Annabel Luxford contended for the win.

The Olympic-distance race’s course along downtown St. Petersburg’s waterfront is fast and flat, drawing 3,500 total competitors total to the scenic event.

PHOTOS: 2012 St. Anthony’s Triathlon

Men’s Race

It was already over 75 degrees outside when the pro men plunged into Tampa Bay for the swim. No one could compete with Australian super swimmer Joshua Amberger. He exited the water first in 18 minutes flat. But Ben Collins and Cameron Dye weren’t about to let the 23-year old get away. The three men stayed close together on the bike and entered T2 together, so it all came down to the run. Returning champion Ospaly whipped through the 10K in 31:07 to take his second St. Anthony’s title, crossing the finish line in 1:45:50—just nine seconds in front of second place finisher Ben Collins. Timothy O’Donnell rounded out the podium, while Amberger dropped back to fourth.

Women’s Race

Swimming phenom Sara McLarty exited the water first in a blazing fast 19:10. But Sarah Haskins was hot on her heels, only three seconds back. Alicia Kaye clawed her way to the front on the bike, posting the fastest 40K bike split of the day in 58:44. But she was no match for the returning champion on the run. Sarah Haskins bested Kaye’s 10K time by more than two minutes, running a 35:51 to win her fourth consecutive St. Anthony’s title in 1:56:55. Kaye and British triathlete Jodie Stimpson rounded out the podium.

St. Anthony’s Triathlon
St. Petersburg, Fla. – April 29, 2012
1.5K swim, 40K bike, 10K run

1. Filip Ospaly 1:45:50
2. Ben Collins 1:45:59
3. Tim O’Donnell 1:46:04
4. Joshua Amberger 1:46:20
5. Cameron Dye 1:47:01
6. Terenzo Bozzone 1:47:16
7. Stuart Hayes 1:47:22
8. Kaleb Vanort 1:47:30
9. Paul Matthews 1:47:43
10. Chris Foster 1:47:47

1. Sarah Haskins 1:56:55
2. Alicia Kaye 1:59:16
3. Jodie Stimpson 1:59:37
4. Annabel Luxford 2:00:07
5. Kelly Williamson 2:00:13
6. Angela Naeth 2:00:19
7. Jillian Petersen 2:00:48
8. Nikki Butterfield 2:01:35
9. Mirinda Carfrae 2:02:02
10. Radka Vodickova 2:02:16

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.