Escape From Alcatraz Set To Celebrate 35 Years Sunday

Sunday's race will welcome several triathlon legends in addition to its usual stellar professional lineup.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The 35th running of the Escape From Alcatraz Triathlon will welcome several triathlon legends in addition to its usual stellar professional lineup.

Professional Race

American Andy Potts (USA) is the clear favorite to take his seventh Alcatraz title. This will be Potts’ 10th attempt, and he has won three of the past four years (Potts didn’t compete when the race took place in March of 2013). Taking the title again won’t be easy for Potts adn he’ll face a long list of short-course stars, including Cameron Dye (USA), Kevin Collington (USA) and Eric Lagerstrom (USA). Other big names include 2014 Kona runner-up Ben Hoffman (USA), super swimmers Josh Amberger (AUS) and Brian Fleischmann (USA), New Zealand’s Graham O’Grady, and Americans Drew Scott and Matty Reed.

2012 Ironman world champion Leanda Cave (GBR) has won this race four times, and she’ll look to take the top spot for the first time in three years. She’ll face off against three-time Ironman world champion Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), ITU up and comer Ashleigh Gentle (AUS), rising short-course star Lauren Goss (USA), short-course veterans Sara McLarty (USA) and Jillian Petersen (USA), and 70.3 standout Magali Tisseyre (USA).

RELATED – Andy Potts: 10 Reasons I Love Escape From Alcatraz

See the complete professional start lists below:

– Josh Amberger (AUS)
– Kevin Collington (USA)
– Cameron Dye (USA)
– Max Fennell (USA)
– Brian Fleischmann (USA)
– Ben Hoffman (USA)
– Eric Lagerstrom (USA)
– Graham O’Grady (NZL)
– Andy Potts (USA)
– Matt Reed (USA)
– Drew Scott (USA)

– Mirinda Carfrae (AUS)
– Leanda Cave (GBR)
– Emily Cocks (USA)
– Jenny Fletcher (USA)
– Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)
– Lauren Goss (USA)
– Sara McLarty (USA)
– Jillian Petersen (USA)
– Magali Tisseyre (CAN)

RELATED – Recalled: Chris McCormack’s First Alcatraz Win

Triathlon Legends Return to Alcatraz

Several legends of triathlon are set to race to celebrate the 35th anniversary of this iconic race. 1989 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Champion Scott Tinley will take to the cold waters of San Francisco Bay alongside a handful of past champions including eight-time Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Champion Michellie Jones, two-time Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Champion Peter Lewandowsky, Terri Schneider and Lester Waddel.

“This race is near and dear to my heart and I am really excited to return and compete this year,” said USAT Hall of Famer and 1989 Escape from Alcatraz champion Scott Tinley. “The 35-year history of this gritty, fun course is fascinating. I remember when it originally included a bike ride over the Golden Gate Bridge to Mill Valley and a Double Dipsea trail run. It was amazing then and still is today.”

Past Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Champions competing this year include:
– 1984 Champion Lester Waddel (United States of America)
– 1987 and 1988 Champion Peter Lewandowsky (United States of America)
– 1989 Champion Scott Tinley (United States of America)
– 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2004 Champion Michellie Jones (Australia)
– 1990 Champion Terri Schneider (United States of America)
– 2006 Champion Matt Reed (United States of America)
– 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2012 Champion Leanda Cave (Great Britain)
– 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2014 Champion Andy Potts (United States of America)
– Additionally, 2006 Champion Becky Lavelle (United States of America) will be in attendance, but not competing in this year’s race.

RELATED PHOTOS: 2014 Escape From Alcatraz Triathlon

Live Coverage

Hosted on, USL.TV will provide live streaming coverage of the entire race and will include commentary and insight from nine locations along the race course. USL.TV will utilize its new tracking technology along with live camera angles, allowing fans the ability to see exactly where their favorite pros are during all three legs of the event. The race will take place on Sunday, June 7, at 7:30 a.m. PDT.

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.