Elite Field Set To Compete At Milwaukee Super Sprint

More than 30 elite and junior elite triathletes will compete in a draft-legal USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series event in Milwaukee on Aug. 8.

Photo: Paul Phillips

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

More than 30 elite and junior elite triathletes will compete in a draft-legal USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series event in Milwaukee on Aug. 8, held in conjunction with the 2015 USA Triathlon Age Group National Championships.

Read the preview from USA Triathlon below:

With the action taking place on and around the grounds of the Milwaukee Art Museum and Discovery World, elite and junior elite triathletes will complete two continuous circuits of the same course, including a 325-meter swim, 4-kilometer bike and 1.5-kilometer run. The women are slated to start at 1:45 p.m. CT, and the men will start at 2:55 p.m. CT.

The field includes professionals who compete on the ITU World Triathlon Series and World Cup circuits. Ben Kanute (USA) posted a ninth-place finish earlier this season in a World Triathlon Series race – the best for any U.S. man this season – and Erin Jones (USA) has won two ITU Continental Cup events this year. Both recently competed in the ITU World Olympic Qualification Event in Rio de Janeiro. Eric Lagerstrom (USA) was the 2013 USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Champion and competed in the Pan American Games last month in Toronto. Sara McLarty (USA) has also performed well in past super sprint events, winning last year’s Milwaukee stop. Andrew Starykowicz (USA) is best known for his performances at the longer distances, including Ironman events, and is the world record holder for bike splits at the Ironman and Ironman 70.3 distances. A current start list is below.

Athletes will compete for a share of the $10,000 prize purse, which will be split evenly between the men’s and women’s fields. The top finisher will receive $1,500, while the second-place finisher will earn $1,250 and the third-place finisher will earn $1,000. Fourth-place finishers will earn $750, and fifth-place finishers will receive $500. The USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series offers the opportunity for the nation’s emerging and Olympic-level triathletes to enhance draft-legal cycling skills and race tactics while competing on a spectator-friendly course.

The Milwaukee Super Sprint event is part of an exciting multisport weekend in Milwaukee, with approximately 5,000 of the nation’s best age-group athletes competing in the 2015 USA Triathlon Age Group National Championships. All of the weekend’s events – Olympic-Distance Nationals, Sprint Nationals and the Super Sprint race – will be live streamed on usatriathlon.org, with races beginning at 7:30 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 8, and Sunday, Aug. 9.

Visit Usatriathlon.org/ss15milwaukee for more information and to watch a live broadcast of the event.

RELATED PHOTOS: USAT Super Sprint Series Milwaukee

Milwaukee Super Sprint Series Start List

Brianna Baird (San Francisco, Calif.)
Joanna Brown (CAN)
Avery Evenson (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Megan Foley (Salt Lake City, Utah)
Johanna Gartman (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Katie Gorczyca (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Erin Jones (Hood River, Ore.)
Samantha Kennedy (East Lansing, Mich.)
Heather Lendway (St. Paul, Minn.)
Sara McLarty (Clermont, Fla.)
Calah Schlabach (Arlington, Va.)
Taylor Spivey (Redondo Beach, Calif.)
Julie Stupp (Austin, Texas)
Nicole Truxes (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Kelsey Withrow (Clayton, Calif.)

Patrick Brady (Washington, D.C.)
Ben Collins (Chicago, Ill.)
Robbie Deckard (Indianapolis, Ind.)
Eli Hemming (Kiowa, Colo.)
Alexander Hinton (CAN)
Ben Kanute (Geneva, Ill.)
Ian King (Virginia Beach, Va.)
Eric Lagerstrom (Portland, Ore.)
Alex Libin (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Chris Lutz (Clermont, Fla.)
Mike Meehan (Allison Park, Pa.)
Dillon Nobbs (La Verne, Calif.)
John O’Neill (Vail, Colo.)
Patrick Parish (Minneapolis, Minn.)
John Rasmussen (CAN)
Andrew Roos (Redwood City, Calif.)
Steve Sexton (Raleigh, N.C.)
Darr Smith (Atlanta, Ga.)
Andrew Starykowicz (Wauconda , Ill.)
David Thompson (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Alex Willis (Leadville, Colo.)

Trending on Triathlete