Don, Mullan Take Inaugural Ironman Mallorca

Great Britain's Tim Don and Ireland's Eimear Mullan took the wins at the first-ever Ironman Mallorca in Spain today.

Photo: Paul Phillips

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Great Britain’s Tim Don and Ireland’s Eimear Mullan took the wins at the first-ever Ironman Mallorca in Spain today.

Don grabbed the victory in his first-ever Ironman thanks to a 45:25 swim, a 4:51:21 bike and a 2:52:07 marathon. Spain’s Miguel Angel Fidalgo also had a great day, finishing a close second at 8:38:08. Switzerland’s Mike Aigroz rounded out the top three, finishing at 8:40:29.

Mullan narrowly took the victory over American Dede Griesbauer, crossing the finish line in first at 9:24:17 with a 55:13 swim, a 5:13:01 bike and a 3:10:26 marathon. Griesbauer earned the silver spot at 9:27:09, with Astrid Ganzow (GER) claiming third in 9:31:10.

Ironman Mallorca
Alcudia, Mallorca, Spain – Sept. 27, 2014
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

1. Tim Don (GBR) 8:34:02
2. Miguel Angel Fidalgo (ESP) 8:38:08
3. Mike Aigroz (SUI) 8:40:29
4. Miguel Blanchart Tintó (ESP) 8:41:20
5. Carlos López Díaz 8:45:09

1. Eimear Mullan (IRL) 9:24:17
2. Dede Griesbauer (USA) 9:27:09
3. Astrid Ganzow (GER) 9:31:10
4. Mette Pettersen Moe (NOR) 9:38:58
5. Kamila Polak (AUT) 9:44:33

Complete results.

Trending on Triathlete

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.