Docherty Takes World Championship Series Opener In Sydney

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

It was a great start to the 2010 Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series for Kiwi veteran Bevan Docherty, who was victorious in Sydney, winning with a breakaway on the final lap of the run. Docherty won with a time of 1:51:27. It’s the second year in a row that Docherty has kicked off the world championship season with a win.

With the win Bevan Docherty sits atop the World Championship Series leaderboard. Photo: Carr
With the win Bevan Docherty sits atop the World Championship Series leaderboard. Photo: Carr

“It was a real tough course today,” Docherty said. “It was much harder than I expected, but I felt good heading into the final lap and was able to make a break. Winning in front of the Sydney Opera House is amazing.”

Behind Docherty was a pair of surprise podium finishers. Russia’s Alexander Brukhankov finished six seconds back of the Kiwi, barely holding off France’s David Hauss, who finished third, one second behind the Russian.

Fifty-seven men took to the water’s of Farm Cove in beautiful Sydney Harbor to officially kick off the 2010 World Championship Season. Russia’s Alexander Brukhankov and Frenchman Frederic Belaubre immediately moved to the front, but were unable to make a break on the first 750-metre lap. The pack started to string out on the second loop, with the Russian men charging to the front. Russia’s Dmitry Polyansky led out of the swim, with a big group of almost 50 athletes exiting just behind.

Onto the first of eight laps on the bike, Aussie youngster James Seear, who finished third at the Mooloolaba World Cup two weeks ago, took over the leading role at the start of the hilly ride, with Docherty right on his wheel. Aussie Greg Bennett assumed the role of leading the chasers and kept the peloton within 10 seconds of the leaders throughout the first two laps.

At the halfway point of the ride, Belgium’s Peter Croes took charge of the race, with Russia’s Anton Chuchko and Spanish super-biker Ivan Rana on his wheel. Frenchman Laurent Vidal lead the group of big hitters, only eight seconds behind. Riding with Vidal were 2008 Olympic champion Jan Frodeno of Germany, Hunter Kemper of the United States and Docherty.

Heading into the bell lap, Kemper and Chuchko worked together to make a break on the pack and started the final climb up Macquarie Street with a 35-second advantage on the pack. After a quick transition, Kemper headed out onto the four-lap run course in the lead, with Chuchko only seven seconds behind. Next into transition were France’s Tony Moulai and American Matt Chrabot, both 20 seconds back of Kemper. The big group made their way into T2 almost a minute behind Kemper, led by Docherty and countryman Kris Gemmell.

The pair of Americans began to pull away on the second lap of the run, building a 30-second lead but they weren’t able to hold off the hard charge from Docherty, who led a group of five chasers. The Kiwi made up half of that deficit on the third lap of the run, closing to within just 15 seconds. Running alongside Docherty were Brukhankov, Polyansky, Hauss and 2000 Sydney Olympic gold medalist Simon Whitfield of Canada.

Docherty, Brukhankov and Hauss caught the pair of leaders as they headed up the final hill on the bell lap, and there was little doubt that Docherty was running the strongest of the group. Docherty stretched his lead throughout the final kilometre, holding off the charge from Brukhankov and Hauss behind. Docherty broke the tape in 1:51:27, pumping his first as he sprinted down the finishing chute.

“I always enjoy the sprint finishes, but it was nice to have a little room to be able to celebrate the win a bit,” Docherty said at the finish.

Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
April 11, 2010

1. Bevan Docherty (NZL) 1:51:27
2. Alexander Brukhankov (RUS) 1:51:33 (+:06)
3. David Hauss (FRA) 1:51:34 (+:07)
4. Dmitry Polyansky (RUS) 1:51:40 (+:13)
5. Simon Whitfield (CAN) 1:51:42 (+:15)
6. Tony Moulai (FRA) 1:51:49 (+:22)
7. Greg Bennett (AUS) 1:51:53 (+:26)
8. Laurent Vidal (FRA) 1:51:54 (+:27)
9. Matt Chrabot (USA) 1:51:56 (+:29)
10. Hunter Kemper (USA) 1:52:07 (+:40)

World Championship Standings after Round 1 of 8

1. Bevan Docherty (NZL) 800pts
2. Alexander Brukhankov (RUS) 740pts
3. David Hauss (FRA) 685pts
4. Dmitry Polyansky (RUS) 633pts
5. Simon Whitfield (CAN) 586pts

Race recap provided by ITU.

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.