Dellow And Lester Win Ironman Cairns, Macca Validates

Australians David Dellow and Carrie Lester take the 2012 Ironman Cairns titles on a hot and steamy day.

Photo: Photo: Nils Nilsen

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Australians David Dellow and Carrie Lester take the 2012 Ironman Cairns titles on a hot and steamy day.

Chris McCormack came out to validate a Kona slot, but wasn’t in long-distance shape to compete against the likes of David Dellow, Cameron Brown or Jason Shortis.

On the women’s side, the top three women from last year returned: defending champ Rebekah Keat, Michelle Mitchell, and Carrie Lester.

Men’s Race

David Dellow just about led the men from start to finish, coming out of the water with Luke Bell in just under 48 minutes. He maintained his lead on the sugar cane-lined bike course, which had very little wind, but he wasn’t alone toward the end of the bike segment: Brown, Bell, Matty White, and Leon Griffin all caught up to him. Brown led the men out of T2, posting the men’s fastest bike time in 4:30:48. By the 14-mile mark, however, Dellow caught up, proving he’s the man best suited to the hot and humid conditions (80s and 67% humidity). He takes his first Ironman crown in 8:15:04. Brown took second over 7 minutes later while Jimmy Johnsen rounded out the podium in third. Macca placed 9th, earning his Kona spot.

Women’s Race

Rebekah Keat led the swim, exiting the water in 52:23, half a minute ahead of New Zealand’s Belinda Harper, the 2010 IM age group world champ. Keat maintained her lead through the bike, posting the only women’s bike split under 5 hours, in 4:56:27, while Belinda Granger had a chat with Macca on the bike. Keat exited T2 in first place, but she strained her calf at the 5K mark, eventually pulling out of the race. By the 24 mile mark, Lester held a 1-minute lead over Harper, and ran it in for the win in 9:21 flat. Belinda Harper and Candice Hammond rounded out the podium in second and third respectively.

Ironman Cairns
Cairns, Australia – June 3, 2012
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

1. David Dellow (AUS) 8:15:04
2. Cameron Brown (NZL) 8:22:21
3. Jimmy Johnsen (DEN) 8:29:36
4. Matty White (AUS) 8:31:19
5. Petr Vabrousek (CZE) 8:40:00

1. Carrie Lester (AUS) 9:21:00
2. Belinda Harper (AUS) 9:22:42
3. Candice Hammond (NZL) 9:24:45
4. Belinda Granger (AUS) 9:32:16
5. Rebecca Hoschke (AUS) 9:39:53

Complete results here.

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.