Americans On Top In Lake Placid

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Americans Ben Hoffman and Amy Marsh took Ironman wins in Lake Placid, N.Y. today.

Photo courtesy of
Photo courtesy of

New Zealand’s Bryan Rhodes led the men out of the swim with a time of 50:02. Rhodes enjoyed an early lead on the bike thanks to the three-minute advantage he gained out of the water. At around the midway point of the bike he was joined up front by last year’s winner, Maik Twelsiek of Germany. Twelsiek surged to the lead and looked like he was going to head into T2 in front of the pack. Twelsiek and Hoffman exchanged breakaway efforts for the final 56 miles before heading into the second transition only seconds apart. The pair started the marathon together and it became clear the win would come from the man who put forward the best marathon. The pair continued to battle until Hoffman found the edge, taking the lead and carrying it all the way to the finish line. His 8:39:34 victory came thanks to a 3:01:24 marathon. The Czech Repubic’s Petr Vabrousek ran his way into second position, crossing at 8:46:33. Twelsiek settled for third in 8:48:33.

Photo courtesy of
Photo courtesy of

Marsh started the day off on a positive note, heading first into T1 for the women at 55:43. The fast swim gave her nearly two minutes over the next fastest swimmer, Caitlin Snow. In the early miles of the bike, time splits suggested that Marsh would eventually be caught by the fast-riding field behind her. Marsh found her pace and pulled away from the rest of the field, heading onto the run with a sizeable lead. With the lead under her belt, Marsh cruised to a 3:18:27 marathon for the 9:27:30 win. Snow turned in an impressive marathon to work her way up from fifth off of the bike to second at the finish line. Australia’s Lisa Marangon posted solid times across all three disciplines to earn third.

Ironman Lake Placid
Lake Placid, N.Y. – July 25, 2010
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

1.            Ben Hoffman (USA) 8:39:34
2.             Petr Vabrousek (CZE) 8:46:33
3.             Maik Twelsiek (GER) 8:48:33
4.             Justin Daerr (USA) 9:05:09
5.             Tim Snow (USA) 9:10:48

1.              Amy Marsh (USA) 9:27:30
2.             Caitlin Snow (USA) 9:44:18
3.             Lisa Marangon (AUS) 9:51:31
4.             Kate Bevilaqua (AUS) 9:53:39
5.             Kelly Liljeblad (USA) 9:59:54

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.