2016 Ironman 70.3 World Championship Pro Start Lists

Australia will host the Ironman 70.3 World Championship for the first time next month.

Photo: Competitive Image

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Australia will host the Ironman 70.3 World Championship for the first time next month, and it will welcome a top-notch professional field. Despite the fact that the Sept. 4 event, set to take place in Mooloolaba, Queensland, is just over one month before and nearly 5,000 miles away from the Ironman World Championship in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, several top professionals have chosen to make the start.

A pair of two-time Ironman 70.3 world champions highlight the women’s start list, with 2014 and 2015 winner Daniela Ryf (SUI) coming in as the heavy favorite to make it a three-peat. She’ll face the other two-time winner, Melissa Huaschildt (AUS), as well as another previous winner in Leanda Cave (GBR). Other top names include Heather Wurtele (CAN), Caroline Steffen (SUI), Holly Lawrence (GBR), Lauren Barnett (USA), Alicia Kaye (USA), Linsey Corbin (USA) and Radka Vodickova (CZE).

On the men’s side, defending champion Jan Frodeno (GER) has decided to not to compete, making two-time winner—and last year’s runner-up—Sebastian Kienle (GER) the favorite to reclaim the title. Other past winners include Australia’s Craig Alexander (who has also won it twice) and New Zealand’s Terenzo Bozzone. Brent McMahon (CAN), Ruedi Wild (SUI), Tim Reed (AUS),  Lionel Sanders (CAN), Andreas Dreitz (GER), Joe Gambles (AUS), Luke Mckenzie (AUS) are a few of several names who could make the podium in a competitive men’s race.

RELATED PHOTOS: 2015 Ironman 70.3 Sunshine Coast

See the start list below and check back for a complete preview.


101 Daniela Ryf (SUI)
102 Heather Wurtele (CAN)
104 Magali Tisseyre (CAN)
105 Caroline Steffen (SUI)
106 Annabel Luxford (AUS)
107 Holly Lawrence (GBR)
108 Lauren Barnett (USA)
109 Natascha Schmitt (GER)
110 Melissa Hauschildt (AUS)
111 Leanda Cave (GBR)
112 Radka Vodickova (CZE)
114 Alexandra Tondeur (BEL)
115 Alicia Kaye (USA)
116 Heather Lendway (USA)
117 Ricarda Lisk (GER)
118 Sarah Crowley (AUS)
119 Linsey Corbin (USA)
120 Laura Siddall (GBR)
121 Astrid Stienen (GER)
122 Nikki Bartlett (GBR)
123 Andrea Forrest (AUS)
124 Ellie Salthouse (AUS)
125 Lauren Brandon (USA)
126 Kate Bevilaqua (AUS)
127 Laura Philipp (GER)
128 Kirsty Jahn (CAN)
129 Katey Gibb (AUS)
130 Dimity‐Lee Duke (AUS)
132 Caroline Livesey (GBR)
133 Kate Pedley (AUS)
134 Jessica Mitchell (AUS)
137 Renee Baker (AUS)
138 Erika Simon (ARG)
139 Kym Coogan (AUS)


2 Sebastian Kienle (GER)
3 Lionel Sanders (CAN)
4 Ruedi Wild (SUI)
5 Antony Costes (FRA)
6 Tim Reed (AUS)
8 Andreas Dreitz (GER)
9 Tim Don (GBR)
10 Craig Alexander (AUS)
11 Trevor Wurtele (CAN)
12 Jake Montgomery (AUS)
15 Samuel Appleton (AUS)
16 Taylor Reid (CAN)
17 Joe Gambles (AUS)
18 Josh Amberger (AUS)
20 Brent McMahon (CAN)
21 Terenzo Bozzone (NZL)
22 Christian Hoerper (GER)
23 Jan Van Berkel (SUI)
24 Maurice Clavel (GER)
25 Casey Munro (AUS)
26 Mitchell Robins (AUS)
27 Mike Phillips (NZL)
28 David Mainwaring (AUS)
29 Matthew Pellow (AUS)
30 Braden Currie (NZL)
31 Paulo Roberto Maciel da Silva (BRA)
32 Tyler Butterfield (BER)
33 Rodrigo Acevedo (USA)
34 Milosz Sowinski (POL)
35 Luke Mckenzie (AUS)
36 Igor Amorelli (BRA)
37 Guy Crawford (NZL)
38 Nicholas Kastelein (AUS)
39 David Breuer (GER)
40 Peter Kerr (AUS)
41 Mark Bowstead (NZL)
42 Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS)
43 Graham O’Grady (NZL)
44 Nick Baldwin (SYC)
45 Adam Gordon (AUS)
46 Tim George (AUS)
47 Michael Davidson (RSA)
48 Brad Williams (USA)
49 Mitchell Kibby (AUS)
50 Daniel Fontana (ITA)
52 Roberto Rivera (CHI)
53 Paul Schuster (GER)
54 Matt Franklin (NZL)
55 Mauro Baertsch (SUI)

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.