$1 Million Triple Crown Returns For 2016

The three events have been announced by HH Shaikh Nasser.

Photo: Delly Carr

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Though Triathlete.com has been unable to confirm the details, the race dates for this year’s Nasser bin Hamad Triple Crown have been posted on Nbhtriplecrown.bh.

According to the website, the three events will be Ironman 70.3 Dubai (Jan. 29), Ironman 70.3 Zell am See (Aug. 28) and Ironman 70.3 Bahrain (Dec. 10). The dates may pose some challenges for top professionals, with the first race taking place in just 11 days and the second race occurring one week before the Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Mooloolaba, Australia (set for Sept. 4).

The Triple Crown was first announced by HH Shaikh Nasser, a member of the Bahraini royal family, back in December of 2014. If any one athlete could win three specified races in 2015, he and/or she would take home $1 million. Daniela Ryf (SUI) and Terenzo Bozzone (NZL) won the first race, Challenge Dubai on Feb. 27, but then the series had to make some adjustments to account for the cancellation of Challenge Oman and Challenge Bahrain. Ryf went on to win the final two events, the Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Zell am See, Austria and then Ironman 70.3 Bahrain, to earn the big paycheck.

Check back to Triathlete.com as we continue to follow-up with details about the Triple Crown.

RELATED PHOTOS: Daniela Ryf’s Undefeated 2015 Season


Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.