ITU Announces Nominees For Inaugural Hall Of Fame

The International Triathlon Union today announced the nominees for its first-ever ITU Hall of Fame.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The International Triathlon Union today announced the nominees for its first-ever ITU Hall of Fame.

See the complete announcement from ITU below:

“The sport of triathlon has been blessed with athletes pushing the limits of sport since the very first World Championships in Avignon 25 years ago,” said ITU President and IOC Member Marisol Casado. “We look forward to honoring and celebrating their accomplishments, alongside those that have built the sport into what it has become today.”

A total of 25 individuals have been shortlisted for the first annual induction, with a maximum of nine of those nominated to be inaugurated into the Hall of Fame in September. The nominations are divided into the below categories of elite female and male athlete accomplishments, as well as lifetime achievements in the sport of triathlon.

Elite Women
Erin Baker, NZL
Emma Carney, AUS
Vanessa Fernandez, POR
Jackie Gallagher, AUS
Loretta Harrop, AUS
Siri Lindley, USA
Barb Lindquist, USA
Michellie Jones, AUS
Carol Montgomery, CAN
Karen Smyers, USA
Emma Snowsill, AUS

Elite Men
Mark Allen, USA
Rob Barel, NED
Brad Beven, AUS
Hamish Carter, NZL
Simon Lessing, GBR
Chris McCormack, AUS
Peter Robertson, AUS
Spencer Smith, GBR
Miles Stewart, AUS
Greg Welch, AUS
Simon Whitfield, CAN

Lifetime Achiever
Gunnar Ericsson, SWE
Chiharu Igaya, JPN
Les McDonald, CAN

Nominees in the men’s and women’s category were selected based on the criteria that each has a championship title in one or more ITU World Championships, Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, World Cup Series, and/or ITU World Rankings. Lifetime Achievement Nominees were selected based on their extraordinary, long-term contributions off the field of play or through an exceptional contribution to ITU and the sport of triathlon.

The induction ceremony will take place during the 2014 Edmonton World Triathlon Grand Final closing ceremonies banquet with more than 4,000 athletes and dignitaries in attendance.

In addition to the Hall of Fame, ITU will celebrate its 25th year as an international federation by publishing a commemorative 25 year anniversary book and will hold its final Executive Board of the year meeting in Avignon, France, where ITU’s first Congress was held in 1989.

For full information on the achievements of each individual, click here. Additional details on the selection process can be found here.

RELATED: The 25 Greatest Male Triathletes Of All Time

RELATED: The 25 Greatest Female Triathletes Of All Time

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.