Chrissie Wellington to be Inducted into Ironman Hall of Fame

Four-time Ironman world champion Chrissie Wellington of Great Britain will be honored during race week on the Big Island.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Four-time Ironman world champion Chrissie Wellington of Great Britain will be honored during race week on the Big Island for her contributions to and achievements in the sport.

Wellington will be the only athlete inducted into the Ironman Hall of Fame for 2017, with the ceremony taking place on Oct. 11. Though her stint in the sport was brief—just five years as a pro—she had an indelible influence on triathlon and its future. Through her giant smile and daring “live without limits” attitude, she inspired thousands before announcing her retirement from the sport in late 2012—more than a year after her final race. She won the world titles in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011, and earned overall 13 iron-distance victories in her career—going undefeated at the distance. She still holds the record for fastest iron-distance race, an 8:18:13 she set at the 2011 Challenge Roth triathlon, and official Ironman race, an 8:33:56 she set at the 2011 Ironman South Africa triathlon.

RELATED – Commemorating Chrissie: Wellington’s 13 Iron-Distance Victories

“Chrissie’s accomplishments in the sport are impressive and it is fitting that she should be inducted in her first year of eligibility,” said Andrew Messick, Chief Executive Officer of Ironman, in a press release. “Chrissie exemplifies the role of an Ironman world champion and has defined what it means to be a professional triathlete in the modern era. Her achievements have furthered the sport and inspired many to become Ironman triathletes themselves. We are honored to induct her into the Ironman Hall of Fame, joining the other elites of the sport.”

“Once you decide to leave the sport as a professional athlete you think your days of being awarded accolades are over—I am truly humbled and excited to see my name featured among our sport’s greats, whom I have so much admiration and respect for,” said Wellington.

“I devoted five years to being the best athlete I could be. No short cuts, no stone left unturned,” Wellington continued. “I would rather have five years of excellence than 10 years of mediocrity. My life has changed for the better from being able to achieve and experience what I did.”

Ironman Hall of Fame

Year Inductee(s)
1993 Dave Scott
1994 Julie Moss
1995 Scott Tinley
1996 Paula Newby-Fraser
1997 Mark Allen
1998 John and Judy Collins
1999 Valerie Silk
2000 Tom Warren
2001 Dr. Bob Laird
2002 Bob Babbitt
2003 John MacLean/Gordon Haller / Lyn Lemaire
2004 Greg Welch
2005 Jim Maclaren
2008 Team Hoyt – Rick and Dick Hoyt
2011 Mike Reilly
2012 Graham Fraser
2013 Peter Henning
2014 Georg Hochegger / Helge Lorenz / Stefan Petschnig
2015 Lori Bowden / Heather Fuhr
2016 Lew Friedland / Peter Reid
2017 Chrissie Wellington

Trending on Triathlete