Batelier, Bucher Win Xterra European Tour Opener In Portugal

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Reigning XTERRA European Tour Champions Franky Batelier from France and Renata Bucher from Switzerland won the first race of the 2010 Tour at the inaugural XTERRA Portugal Championship this afternoon.

It’s Batelier’s fifth straight win in Europe, having swept the four-race European Tour last season.  On the women’s side Bucher, the “Swiss Miss” of XTERRA, continued her world domination tour by picking up her 21st career championship race victory since 2005.  Her resume now includes six XTERRA Saipan titles, three wins in France, two in Czech, Austria, and Italy, and one each in Japan, Malaysia, Spain, U.K., U.S., and now Portugal.

1    Franky Batelier    FRA    2:16:35
2    Bruno Pais    POR    2:21:53
3    Nicolas Lebrun    FRA    2:22:52
4    Yeray Luxem    BEL    2:23:05
5    Lino Barruncho    POR    2:25:12
6    Fabien Combaluzier    FRA    2:25:52
7    Lieuwe Boonstra    RSA    2:27:18
8    Jim Thijs    BEL    2:29:11
9    Francisco Villaescusa    ESP    2:30:16
10    Borja Gabriel Figueroa    ESP    2:31:06

1    Renata Bucher    SUI    2:44:44
2    Marion Lorblanchet     FRA    2:47:05
3    Maria Areosa    POR    2:51:26
4    Carina Wasle    AUT    2:53:27
5    Myriam Guillot    FRA    2:55:22
6    Maud Golsteyn    NED    2:56:26
7     Judy van den Berg    NED    2:57:29
8    Darrelle Parker     GBR    3:02:03
9    Alexandra Borrelly    FRA    3:08:48
10    Yolanda Magallon Vallejo    ESP    3:29:17

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.