Aaron Barclay Wins Youth Olympic Gold In Men’s Triathlon

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Kiwi young star Aaron Barclay topped at men’s triathlon with the timing of 54:41.49, claiming first gold medal in Youth Olympic Games men’s triathlon. Kevin McDowell (USA) took silver, bringing second medal in YOG triathlon to Team USA, while Alois Knabl (AUT) finished in third.

Photo: Triathlon.org
Photo: Triathlon.org

Thirty two athletes from all five continents started off in a little rainy weather this morning. Several good swimmers tried to head away in the first 750m swim, and nine athletes formed a leading pack during the 20k bike. Barclay, McDowell and Knabl joined by Miguel Valente Fernandes (POR), Jeremy Obozil (FRA), Lautaro Diaz (ARG), Thomas Jurgens (BEL), Lukas Kocar (CZE), and Abrahm Louw (NAM) stayed together, pushing hard to edge out the second group. The leaders finished the bike by one minute and a half ahead.

Barclay, who was the second finisher at Oceania YOG Qualifier, tried to break away at the exit of the transition. Only McDowell, American YOG Qualifier winner, could stayed at his back, and the two athletes demonstrated an exciting head-to-head battle till the first half of the final run leg. Barclay, however, managed the 5k run in 16:32, the best lap among the athletes racing today, crossed the finish line first, enjoying cheers of crowds in the final stretch.

Asked about feeling to get the gold in the first-ever Youth Olympics, Barclay said, “It was pretty incredible. I don’t know what to say. I’m really proud to get this for New Zealand because I really love my country.”

Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games – Men Final
August 16, 2010
Sprint Triathlon – 750m swim, 20K bike, 5K run

1. Aaron Barclay (NZL) 54:41.49
2. Kevin McDowell (USA) 54:55.28
3. Alois Knabl (AUT) 55:04.72
4. Miguel Valente Fernandes (POR) 55:12.47
5. Abrahm Louw (NAM) 55:28.99
6. Lukas Kocar (CZE) 55:57.33
7. Jeremy Obozil (FRA) 56:21.21
8. Wian Sullwald (RSA) 56:26.68
9. Gabor Hanko (HUN) 56:49.17
10. Lautaro Diaz (ARG) 56:54.91

Jan Frodeno Reflects on His Final Ironman World Championship

Immediately after finishing 24th place at his final Ironman World Championships, the Olympic medalist (and three-time IMWC winner) explains what his race in Nice meant to him.