Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Brands

Events

Video: Sarah Groff Breaks Down Olympic Triathlon Racing

Excited for the Olympics, but don't know a lot about the ITU style of racing? U.S. Olympic team member Sarah Groff explains the format.

For access to all of our training, gear, and race coverage, plus exclusive training plans, FinisherPix photos, event discounts, and GPS apps, sign up for Outside+.

[brightcove id=”1768352247001″]

Excited for the Olympics, but don’t know a lot about the ITU style of racing? U.S. Olympic team member Sarah Groff explains the format.

The 2012 London Olympic triathlon will be made up of a one-lap 1.5K swim, a 43K bike (seven laps of a 6.137km course) and a 10K run (four laps of a 2.5km course). The race will be one of the only events that will allow non-ticketed spectators to see a good part of the action. The women race on Saturday, Aug. 4 at Saturday, Aug. 4 at 9 a.m. London time, which is 4 a.m. Eastern time and 1 a.m. Pacific time. See the television schedule here.

RELATED – Sarah Groff: From Beginner To Olympic Triathlete

For more from London, visit Triathlete.com/Olympics.