Terenzo Bozzone Gets Ironman New Zealand Win in 10th Attempt

New Zealand's Terenzo Bozzone finally had the breakthrough race he had been looking for on the historic Ironman New Zealand course.

For access to all of our training, gear, and race coverage, plus exclusive training plans, FinisherPix photos, event discounts, and GPS apps, sign up for Outside+.

New Zealand’s Terenzo Bozzone finally had the breakthrough race he had been looking for on the historic Ironman New Zealand course. The Kiwi took advantage of the spectacular conditions in Taupo to cross the finish line just a few seconds shy of the eight-hour mark at 7:59:57. The time was good enough to establish a new course record, breaking legend Cameron Brown’s previous one by more than seven minutes. Bozzone competes in his home-country Ironman every year and finally got the victory after 10 attempts and four second-place finishes.

Great Britain’s Joe Skipper kept pace with Bozzone for much of the race and ultimately finished second in 8:05:32. Brown has won this race 12 times, and at the age of 45 continues to return as a professional every year. He used a 2:41:55 marathon to finish in third.

Bozzone said of Brown, “This legend has inspired and pushed me to be a better athlete at this race for the past 10 years. I can’t believe I am now on the top of the podium.”

In the women’s race, Great Britain’s Laura Siddall went one better than last year to win the women’s title, finishing in 9:00:44. New Zealand’s Teresa Adam, a former national representative in triathlon and water polo, finished in second. Defending champion Joceyln McCauley (USA) pushed hard but did not have the running legs of 2017, and had to settle for third.

See a recap video from race organizers below.

2018 Ironman New Zealand
Taupo, New Zealand – March 3, 2018
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

1. Terenzo Bozzone (NZL) 7:59:56
2. Joe Skipper (GBR) 8:05:32
3. Cameron Brown (NZL) 8:07:09
4. Jan van Berkel (SUI) 8:10:27
5. Mike Phillips (NZL) 8:13:47

1. Laura Siddall (GBR) 9:00:44
2. Teresa Adam (NZL) 9:05:35
3. Jocelyn McCauley (USA) 9:12:51
4. Alise Selsmark (AUS) 9:42:58
5. Indy Kraal (NZL) 9:44:26