Jodie Stimpson Unstoppable In Cape Town

Jodie Stimpson (GBR) makes it two for two as ITU World Triathlon Series makes its Cape Town debut.

Jodie Stimpson (GBR) makes it two for two as ITU World Triathlon Series makes its Cape Town debut.

Great Britain’s Jodie Stimpson asserted her status as the female triathlete to beat in 2014, collecting her second consecutive World Triathlon Series win as the Series made its debut in Africa on Saturday.

After being part of a 12-strong lead group on the bike that left T2 just over two minutes up on the chase, Stimpson hit the run course in Cape Town with intent. While it initially looked like it would be a repeat of Auckland, where Stimpson was not headed across the 10km, Helen Jenkins had other ideas. The two-time ITU World Champion caught Stimpson at the halfway mark, before a frenzied final five kilometres where the lead changed multiple times. But Stimpson pulled out another gear in the final 500m and as the blue carpet came into sight, as she stormed home for her second win of 2014.

“When Helen passed me it was just all about trying to hang on, I was going through a bad bit, I had a stitch and I was just like, come on, just hold on to Helen,” Stimpson said. “I tried to break her going onto the last lap and then I couldn’t, so I just sat behind and I just gave it all I’ve got and managed to get on top today.”

While Stimpson and Jenkins’ battle rightly headlined Cape Town, the USA’s Gwen Jorgensen almost stole the show with another breathtaking run. Jorgensen was part of the chase that left the second transition 2 minutes and 12 seconds behind the leaders, but the American speedster didn’t let that deter her as she blew through every other member of the lead group—including Sarah Groff in the final kilometer—to take her place on the podium with bronze.

Click here for a full race recap.

2014 World Triathlon Cape Town – April 26, 2014
750m swim, 40km bike, 10km run
1. Jodie Stimpson GBR 01:46:11
2. Helen Jenkins GBR 01:46:18
3. Gwen Jorgensen USA 01:46:33
4. Sarah Groff USA 01:47:11
5. Ainhoa Murua ESP 01:47:54
6. Anne Haug GER 01:47:59
7. Kirsten Sweetland CAN 01:48:05
8. Vicky Holland GBR 01:48:14
9. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:48:24
10. Emma Jackson AUS 01:48:31