Ironman

How to Watch the Ironman World Championship

Want to follow the Ironman World Championship on Oct. 14? Here’s what you need to know.

Want to follow the Ironman World Championship on Oct. 14? Here’s what you need to know.

In the U.S.

NBC Sports Group and Ironman have announced a partnership to showcase coverage of the 2017 Ironman World Championship live from Kailua-Kona on NBC, NBCSN, NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app in the United States.

Television coverage will include live look-ins throughout race day on NBC and NBCSN, and more than nine hours of live streaming race coverage on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app, as well as Ironman.com (where the race has traditionally been streamed).

Television coverage will include:

  • Live race start coverage on NBCSN from 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. ET
  • Live reports on NBC and NBCSN from 2 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. ET
  • Live race finish on NBCSN from 8:30 p.m. to 10 p.m. ET

Bottom line, if you want to watch the whole race, visit NBCSports.com, the NBC Sports app, or Ironman.com from 9:30 a.m. PT/12:30 p.m. ET until 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET.

Internationally

The race will be broadcast internationally (outside of the United States) on Red Bull TV. Over nine hours of full race coverage will be available across multiple platforms both live and on demand. Tune in to Redbull.tv/ironman for coverage. Red Bull TV is also distributed digitally as an app across mobile phones, tablets, consoles, OTT devices, and Smart TVs.

The Broadcast Team

The broadcast will be hosted by 1990 Ironman world champion Greg Welch (AUS) and multiple Ironman champion Michael Lovato (USA) and will also feature field reporters Matt Lieto (USA) and Charlie Webster (GBR).

The NBC Recap Shows

Ironman has won 16 Emmy Awards for its annual broadcast special. The 90-minute show highlighting the iconic race and its charismatic participants returns to NBC with the 2017 premiere on Dec. 9, 2017 from 11:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. ET to 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET.  Additional programming highlighting the race includes the Ironman: Quest for Kona Series (from Oct. 4 to Dec. 7 on NBCSN), The Kona Preview Show (Dec. 7 and 9 on NBCSN), and the 2017 Ironman 70.3 World Championship special (Oct. 13 on NBCSN).

Follow Your Friends

If you’re following a friend, the enhanced Athlete Tracker tool on Ironman.com includes multiple time splits for the bike and run, so you can know where exactly on the course he or she is at any time.

Keep Up on Social

Leading up to the race, athletes, media, and organizers will be using #IMKona on Twitter and Instagram. Follow Triathlete at @Triathletemag and Ironman at @Ironmantri.

Follow our complete race week coverage at Triathlete.com/Kona2017