Henning, Lidbury Victorious At Challenge Fuerteventura

Denmark's Rasmus Henning retained his title at today’s Challenge Fuerteventura with a convincing win 3:57:16 win.

Denmark’s Rasmus Henning retained his title at today’s Challenge Fuerteventura with a convincing win 3:57:16 win, while Britain’s Emma Kate Lidbury took home the women’s title in 4:32:41.

See the complete race recap from the Challenge Series below:

Henning was second out of the water behind fellow Dane Rasmus Petreaus, but by the 10K mark on the bike Henning had taken the lead. By now Daniel Halksworth (GBR) had moved up into second and lost just 37 seconds to Henning’s fastest bike split of the day in 2:19:20.

A 1:15:46 half marathon gave Henning a comfortable win over Halksworth, who crossed the line four back in 4:01:06. Spain’s Victor Manuel del Corral Morrales rounded out the podium in a time of 4:01:49.

“It was a great feeling to once again win here on Fuerteventura and Playitas that has been my home the last two years. I could ease into a solid race pace all day but didn’t have to go full steam at any point so it was nice to be able to take the win without needing too much recovery after which means I can still train hard the next four to five weeks leading up the my next race in Texas on May 19,” said Henning.

The women’s race saw Emma-Kate Lidbury lead from the start, exiting the water in a time of 25:03, a minute and a half ahead of Daniela Sämmler of Germany. By the end of the bike she had extended her lead to four minutes. On the run Lucy Gossage of Great Britain ran up from third to second in a bid to challenge Lidbury,  but her two-minute gain on the lead wasn’t enough and she had to settle for second in 4:35:25. Swedeish athlete Eva Nyström took third in 4:37:11.

Challenge Fuerteventura
Fuerteventura, Canary Islands, Spain – April 14, 2012
1.2-mile swim, 56-mile bike, 13.1-mile run

1 Rasmus Henning (DEN) 3:57:16
2 Daniel Halksworth (GBR) 4:01:09
3 Victor Manuel Del Corral Morales (ESP) 4:01:49
4 Per Bittner (GER)
5 Strijk Erik-Simon (NOR) 4:04:34

1 Emma Kate Lidbury (GBR) 4:32:41
2 Lucy Gossage (GBR) 4:35:25
3 Eva Nyström (SWE) 4:37:11 4:04:18
4 Erika Csomor (HUN) 4:37:53
5 Daniela Sammler (GER) 4:38:09