Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



2019 Ironman 70.3 World Championship Start List Revealed

Reigning world champion Daniela Ryf is looking to become the first-ever athlete to win five Ironman 70.3 World Championship titles.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Ironman today revealed the 117 professional athletes that make up the 2019 Ironman 70.3 World Championship start list. Fifty-seven women will compete in Nice, France on Sept. 7, with the 60 men following on the same course on Sept. 8. Over 5,000 age-group athletes will also compete over the weekend.

Since the first Ironman 70.3 World Championship was held in 2006, the women’s race has seen 10 different champions from five different countries. Swiss Daniela Ryf has won an event-best four times and could become the first athlete, male or female, to win the Ironman 70.3 World Championship a fifth time. Together with Mirinda Carfrae (AUS) and Leanda Cave (GBR), Ryf also holds the distinction of having won the Ironman World Championship as well the Ironman 70.3 World Championship. Holly Lawrence (GBR) is the only other female former champion on the list.

On the men’s side, two-time Ironman 70.3 world champion Javier Gomez of Spain will be the man to beat. The five-time ITU short-distance world champion and four-time ETU European champion has set his sights on recapturing the title that Jan Frodeno of Germany (who is not on the start list in favor of focusing on his lead up to Kona) stripped from him last year. Gomez, who won the race in 2014 in Mont-Tremblant, Quebec (CAN) and in 2017 in Chattanooga, Tennessee (USA), will be facing a star-studded field of world champions, including Olympic champion Alistair Brownlee (GBR), and Ironman world champions Sebastian Kienle (GER), Patrick Lange (GER), and Frederik van Lierde (BEL).

Check back to as the event draws closer for a more in-depth preview of the professional races and other coverage from Nice.

2019 Ironman 70.3 World Championship Start List – Women

1 Daniela Ryf (SUI)
2 Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR)
3 Anne Haug (GER)
4 Holly Lawrence (GBR)
5 Pâmella Oliveira (BRA)
6 Radka Vodičková Kahlefeldt (CZE)
7 Imogen Simmonds (SUI)
8 Ellie Salthouse (AUS)
9 Emma Pallant (GBR)
10 Laura Philipp (GER)
12 Lauren Goss (USA)
14 Haley Chura (USA)
16 India Lee (GBR)
17 Sarah Crowley (AUS)
18 Danielle Dingman (USA)
19 Manon Genet (FRA)
20 Jackie Hering (USA)
21 Fenella Langridge (GBR)
22 Carrie Lester (AUS)
23 Lisa Norden (SWE)
24 Barbara Riveros (CHI)
25 Frankie Sanjana (GBR)
26 Chelsea Sodaro (USA)
27 Sara Svensk (SWE)
28 Annah Watkinson (RSA)
29 Pamela-Ann Bachelder St-Pierre (CAN)
30 Lauren Barnett (USA)
31 Maria Eugenia Barrera Anduaga (MEX)
33 Gisele Bertucci (BRA)
34 Jeanne Collonge (FRA)
35 Judith Corachan (ESP)
36 Luiza Cravo (BRA)
37 Laura Dennis (AUS)
38 Nina Derron (SUI)
39 Dimity-Lee Duke (AUS)
41 Amber Ferreira (USA)
42 Paula Findlay (CAN)
43 Alexandra Ganzon (PHI)
44 Ewa Komander (POL)
45 Leonie Konczalla (GER)
46 Kinsey Laine (USA)
47 Xenia Luxem (BEL)
48 Rachel Olson (USA)
49 Romina Palacio Balena (ARG)
50 Maddy Pesch (USA)
52 Anne Reischmann (GER)
53 Katrina Rye (GBR)
54 Kaisa Sali (FIN)
55 Mariella Sawyer (RSA)
56 Jenny Schulz (GER)
57 Felicity Sheedy-Ryan (AUS)
58 Bianca Steurer (AUT)
59 Grace Thek (AUS)
60 Alexandra Tondeur (BEL)
61 Amelia Watkinson (NZL)
63 Kyra Wiens (USA)
64 Laura Wood (NZL)

2019 Ironman 70.3 World Championship Start List
Photo: Oliver Baker

2019 Ironman 70.3 World Championship Start List – Men

1 Javier Gomez (ESP)
2 Alistair Brownlee (GBR)
3 Sebastian Kienle (GER)
4 Patrick Lange (GER)
5 Ben Kanute (USA)
6 Pieter Heemeryck (BEL)
7 Sam Appleton (AUS)
8 Adam Bowden (GBR)
9 Rodolophe Von Berg (USA)
11 Kristian Blummenfelt (NOR)
12 Frederik Van Lierde (BEL)
14 Tim Don (GBR)
15 Ruedi Wild (SUI)
16 Andrew Starykowicz (USA)
17 Igor Amorelli (BRA)
18 Florian Angert (GER)
19 Santiago Ascenco (BRA)
20 Andi Boecherer (GER)
21 Kevin Collington (USA)
22 Eric Lagerstrom (USA)
23 Sam Long (USA)
24 Elliot Smales (GBR)
25 Bart Aernouts (BEL)
26 Daniel Bækkegård (DEN)
27 Maurice Clavel (GER)
28 Andreas Dreitz (GER)
30 George Goodwin (GBR)
32 Jackson Laundry (CAN)
34 Paulo Roberto Maciel Da Silva (BRA)
36 Mike Phillips (NZL)
37 Bradley Weiss (RSA)
38 Josh Amberger (AUS)
39 Filipe Azevedo (POR)
40 Mark Bowstead (NZL)
41 Matt Burton (AUS)
42 Alan Carillo Avila (MEX)
43 Pablo Dapena Gonzalez (ESP)
44 Thomas Davis (GBR)
45 Robbie Deckard (USA)
46 Romain Guillaume (FRA)
47 Gustav Iden (NOR)
48 Yvan Jarrige (FRA)
49 Ivan Kalashnikov (RUS)
50 Mitchell Kibby (AUS)
51 Andre Lopes (BRA)
52 David Mainwaring (AUS)
53 Jack Moody (NZL)
54 Banjo Norte (PHI)
55 Joaquin Pereda (MEX)
56 Sam Pictor (GBR)
57 Jason Pohl (CAN)
58 Alexander Polizzi (AUS)
59 Tim Rea (AUS)
60 Horst Reichel (GER)
62 Markus Rolli (GER)
63 Francisco Serrano (MEX)
64 Dominik Sowieja (GER)
65 Milosz Sowinski (POL)
66 Cyril Viennot (FRA)
67 Iuri Vinuto Josino (BRA)