Ironman 70.3 Boise is only in its third year of existence, but it has already found a loyal following among some of the top professionals in the world. One unique characteristic of the Idaho race is its 2 p.m. start. Thanks to community cooperation and a 9:27 p.m. sunset time, the race is able to start at a much later time than most triathlons.

Almost every contender lining up in Boise on Saturday also raced last weekend. Both the United States’ Chris Lieto and Australia’s Craig Alexander are on the starting list. The 2009 version of this race featured a preview of the Ironman World Championship. Lieto led off the bike and was eventually caught by Alexander in the final seconds of the race. While their resumes automatically make them the favorites, each of them put in hard race efforts less than a week ago. Alexander won the Rev3 Quassy Triathlon and Lieto took the victory at Ironman 70.3 Kansas. Other men who could vie for the win include New Zealand’s Bryan Rhodes, Australia’s Chris McDonald and Joe Gambles, and the United States’ Ben Hoffman, Justin Daerr, Matt Lieto and Brian Fleischmann.

Last year’s women’s winner, Magali Tisseyre of Canada, is not on the start list. With Tisseyre choosing not to race, the favorite is Ironman 70.3 World Champion Julie Dibens. Dibens struggled to a fourth place finish at last week’s Rev3 Quassy Triathlon and will be looking to return to training on a positive note. Another contender is last year’s runner-up Linsey Corbin of the United States. But like so many professionals set to race this weekend, Corbin will be racing on tired legs after completing a half-ironman race last weekend. Other female professionals include American Heather Jackson and Australian Kate Major.

Ironman 70.3 Boise Starting List

Adam Jensen
Andrea Fisher
Ben Hoffman
Brendan Halpin
Brian Fleischmann
Bryan Rhodes
Charisa Wernick
Chris Bagg
Chris Boudreaux
Chris Lieto
Chris McDonald
Christine Fletcher
Craig Alexander
Graham O’Grady
Heather Jackson
Ian Mikelson
Jamie Whyte
Jesse Vondracek
Joe Gambles
Juan Carlos Ramirez
Julie Dibens
Justin Daerr
Karl Bordine
Kate Major
Angela Axmann
Kevin Everett
Linsey Corbin
MacKenzie Madison
Malaika Homo
Mario De Elias
Matt Balzer
Matt Lieto
Matt Sheeks
Matt Shryock
Matt White
Melissa Vandewater
Michael Gordon
Nicholas Thompson
Olly Piggin
Rochelle Hair
Stephen Kilshaw
Tim Berkel
Tim Reed
Tyler Butterfield
Uli Bromme