Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



70.3 World Championship Start List Announced

50 pro women and 65 men are on the start lists for the 2021 70.3 World Championships.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

UPDATED: Sept. 13

This weekend, the 70.3 World Championship will take to St. George, Utah in a condensed one-day format—meaning both the men and the women will hit the water on Saturday, Sept. 18 to crown two new world champions on the hilly, tough course. (The 70.3 World Championships will return to St. George next year, after a shuffling of events due to COVID moved the 2022 race from New Zealand.)

With the 2021 Ironman World Championships in Kona postponed from October to February of next year, the 70.3 World Championships are the main long-course world title up for grabs this fall—and the start lists released by Ironman last week show a deep field from around the world. (Though with COVID travel restrictions ongoing, some athletes from Europe, Australia, and New Zealand may not be able to make it into the country.)

There are a few notable absences from the start lists: Olympic champion Flora Duffy, who had previously qualified for a 70.3 Worlds spot, won’t be starting after an exhausting and busy post-Tokyo month, and defending Ironman World Champion Jan Frodeno didn’t have a spot in St. George (though no word on whether or not Ironman would have made an exception for the GOAT). Frodeno has hinted he’ll instead target Ironman California later this year. Both Kona champions Anne Haug and Patrick Lange won in Challenge Roth and are not racing in St. George.

There were also a few question marks of people who were on the start list but were not actually likely to start—and this new updated start list includes quite a few of those scratches: Alistair Brownlee, who just underwent foot surgery and the raced a massive gravel riding adventure in Spain, previous winner Javier Gomez, and Sebi Kienle, who pulled out of Challenge Roth lat weekend. Lionel Sanders has confirmed that he will be pulling out of St. George, Utah to focus on Chattanooga and California as well. And Taylor Knibb, who impressed at her debut 70.3 in Boulder, at the World Triathlon final in Canada, and then again at the Collins Cup, is seeing how her body recovers from all the racing.

For a more in-depth breakdown of the contenders checkout:

70.3 World Championship Women’s Start List

101 Ryf Daniela CHE
102 Lawrence Holly GBR
104 Sodaro Chelsea USA
105 Charles-Barclay Lucy GBR
106 Pallant-Browne Emma GBR
109 Matthews Katrina GBR
110 Findlay Paula CAN
111 Lester Carrie AUS
112 Moench Skye USA
113 Metzler Jeanni ZAF
114 Hering Jackie USA
115 Salthouse Ellie AUS
116 Norden Lisa SWE
117 Bartlett Nikki GBR
119 Kessler Meredith USA
120 Hall Lucy GBR
121 Smith Lesley USA
122 Piampiano Sarah USA
123 McCauley Jocelyn USA
124 Oliveira Pamella BRA
126 Lee India GBR
127 Thek Grace AUS
128 Stage-Nielsen Maja DNK
129 Becharas Lisa USA
130 Reischmann Anne DEU
131 Jewett Tamara CAN
132 Lane Chloe AUS
133 Mathieux Justine FRA
134 Lewis Danielle USA
136 Iemmolo Julie FRA
137 Knibb Taylor USA
138 Withrow Kelsey USA
139 Best-Pohl Anna-Lena DEU
140 Krüger Katharina DEU
141 Laine Kinsey USA
142 Sheedy-Ryan Felicity AUS
143 Thams Line DNK
144 Alexander Grace USA
145 Pesch Maddy USA
146 Luethi Diane CHE
147 Mensch Rachel USA
148 Wendorff Amanda USA
149 Goodell Kimberly USA
150 Fletcher Jenny CAN

70.3 World Championship Men’s Start List

1 Iden Gustav NOR
4 Blummenfelt Kristian NOR
6 Appleton Sam AUS
7 Weiss Bradley ZAF
8 Kanute Ben USA
9 Sanders Lionel CAN
10 Reed Tim AUS
11 Raelert Michael DEU
12 Long Sam USA
14 Hanson Matthew USA
15 Bækkegård Daniel DNK
16 Leiferman Chris USA
17 Goodwin George GBR
18 Ditlev Magnus DNK
19 Neumann Max AUS
20 Dreitz Andreas DEU
21 Funk Frederic DEU
23 Laundry Jackson CAN
24 Smith Kyle NZL
26 Azevedo Filipe PRT
27 Stratmann Jan DEU
28 Clavel Maurice DEU
30 Chartier Collin USA
31 Gambles Joe AUS
32 Mignon Clement FRA
33 West Jason USA
34 Costes Antony FRA
35 Ruttmann Paul AUT
36 Mendez Cruz Mauricio MEX
37 Herbst Marcus DEU
38 Taagholt Miki DNK
39 Jarrige Yvan FRA
41 Smales Elliot GBR
42 Reid Taylor CAN
43 Frommhold Nils DEU
44 Barnaby Gregory ITA
45 Chase Nicholas USA
46 Deckard Robbie USA
47 Kallin Robert SWE
49 Lagerstrom Eric USA
50 Amorelli Igor BRA
51 Ulloa Martin CHL
52 Toldi Fernando BRA
54 Rea Tim AUS
55 Noodt Mika DEU
56 Smith Brennen CAN
57 Le Berre Yohan FRA
58 Faldum Gabor HUN
59 Magnien Dylan FRA
61 Andrie Marty USA
62 Royle Aaron AUS
63 Rodriguez Hernandez Tomas MEX
64 Metzler Justin USA
65 Butterfield Tyler BMU