The national championship will take place in Tempe, Ariz. on Nov. 5.

USA Triathlon today revealed that Arizona State University has been selected to host the 2017 Triathlon Collegiate National Championship in Tempe, Ariz. on Nov. 5.

Athletes will have to qualify at one of three regional qualifier events in the fall. Naperville, Illinois (Sept. 4), Berkeley, Calif. (Sept. 30) and Sarasota, Fla. (Oct. 7) will serve as the host sites for the qualifiers.

The top three five-woman teams from each regional qualifier, as well as a minimum of the top two individual women from those events, will automatically earn a spot for the Women’s Collegiate Triathlon National Championship on Nov. 5 in Tempe. The National Championship field will be limited to 75 women comprised of NCAA Varsity Programs and, dependent on the number of registered athletes, USA Triathlon-registered collegiate club teams.

ASU adopted the NCAA emerging sport of triathlon in 2015 and in its first season of competition under head coach Cliff English, Sun Devil Triathlon won the 2016 national championship.

“It’s truly an honor and very exciting for ASU to be hosting the National Championships here in Tempe,” said English. “I am thrilled we are able to play a part in growing the sport of triathlon through our actions at ASU and hosting nationals will allow us to showcase these incredible young women as they compete on a truly world-class course at Tempe Town Lake.”

The race will take place in and around Tempe Town Lake, which is considered a “spectator friendly” course by the triathlon community and also hosts a 70.3 and Ironman event. The three-lap 4.37-mile bike course will span through downtown Tempe, along Mill bridge, and through the scenic Papago Park while the two-lap 1.53-mile run course will run along the lakefront.

Learn more at

2017 Event Schedule

Women’s Collegiate Triathlon Central Regional Qualifier 
Sept. 4
Naperville, Illinois

Women’s Collegiate Triathlon West Regional Qualifier 
Sept. 30
Berkeley, California

Women’s Collegiate Triathlon East Regional Qualifier 
Oct. 7
Sarasota, Florida

2017 Women’s Collegiate Triathlon National Championship 

Qualification required 
Nov. 5
Tempe, Arizona