On the men's side, Belgium's Marino Vanhoenacker earned his eighth Ironman Austria victory.

Belgium’s Marino Vanhoenacker earned his eighth Ironman Austria victory, while three-time Ironman world champion Mirinda Carfrae claimed the women’s title in a new course record time of 8:41:17thanks in large part to her 2:49:06 marathon.

RELATED PHOTOS: 2016 Ironman Austria

Vanhoenacker put together a 52:38 swim, a 4:19:56 bike and a 2:47:13 marathon on his way to the 8:04:18 victory. Ukraine’s Viktor Zyemtsev ran his way from seventh off of the bike to second at the finish line with a stellar 2:39:57 marathon, crossing the finish line at 8:08:39. Italy’s Alessandro Degasperi rounded out the top three at 8:12:37.

Carfrae was mostly uncontested throughout the 140.4 miles of racing, but it was American Linsey Corbin’s course record (8:42:42 in 2014) that proved to be the biggest challenge. Ultimately she turned in a 59:15 swim, a 4:47:38 bike and a 2:49:06 marathon to set a new course-best time in 8:41:17. The Ironman finish and victory (her first in Europe), validate Carfrae’s spot on the start line of the 2016 Ironman World Championship. Austria’s Michaela Herlbauer spent the majority of her day in the runner-up spot behind Carfrae, and that’s where she finished in 8:57:23. Austria’s Elisabeth Gruber rounded out the podium at 9:17:20.

2016 Ironman Austria-Kärnten
Klagenfurt, Austria, June 26, 2016
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

1. Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL) 8:02:26
2. Viktor Zyemtsev (UKR) 8:08:39
3. Alessandro Degasperi (ITA) 8:12:37
4. Michael Weiss (AUT) 8:13:25
5. David Plese (SLO) 8:13:57

1. Mirinda Carfrea (AUS) 8:41:17
2. Michaela Herlbauer (AUT) 8:57:23
3. Elisabeth Gruber (AUT) 9:17:20
4. Amber Ferreira (USA) 9:34:51
5. Katrine Amtkjaer Nielsen (DEN) 9:40:01