A look at the performances that stood out in 2014.

Male Triathlete of the Year: Javier Gomez
Gomez won the title in 2013. Photo: John David Becker
Female Triathlete of the Year: Gwen Jorgensen
The Fearless Award: Sebastian Kienle
Most Relentless Performance: Mirinda Carfrae in Kona
Carfrae won the 2014 Ironman World Championship. Photo: John David Becker
Best Ironman Debut: Brent McMahon at Ironman Arizona
Best Performance We Didn’t See Coming: Ben Hoffman in Kona
Best Comeback: Michael Raelert
Breakthrough Athlete of the Year: Daniela Ryf
Most Impressive Crossover to Dirt: Flora Duffy
Best Transition to Long Course: Jan Frodeno
Tenacity Award: Meredith Kessler
Best PR Performance: Linsey Corbin at Ironman Austria
Best Display of Teamwork: Sarah Haskins and Gwen Jorgensen at the ITU World Triathlon Series Grand Final
Most Legit Celebrity Performance: Apolo Ohno in Kona
Most Talked About New Race: Challenge Bahrain
Best Finish Line Moment:  Jesse Thomas at Wildflower
Best Single-Sport Performance by a Triathlete: Nicola Spirig at the European Athletic Championships Marathon
Most Impactful Development: Prize Purse Changes
Best Clutch Performer: Helle Frederiksen
Helle Fredriksen won the big Challenge Bahrain $100,000 prize at the end of 2014.
Pro Personality of the Year: Callum Millward

A look at the performances that stood out in 2014. Check back to Triathlete.com over the coming weeks as we share our favorite age-group stories, recognize the top gear innovations, recall our favorite images from the year and more.

RELATED: 10 Most Popular Training Articles Of 2014